Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

New page added

I spent some time staying warm and writing a new information page for my blog.  You can find it on the side bar or click the link to read it.  FYI Read me too.

food-and-kitchen-2016-366

12 comments on “New page added

  1. Phyllis Stalker
    November 20, 2016

    Anita I appreciate everything you write. After 15 years, I lost my job to outsoursing 1 1/2 years ago and haven’t been able to get another job yet. I was brought up in a frugal family where my parents taught my brother and I to chop wood, garden, hunt, preserve food, bake bread, sew, be thrifty, etc. Life lessons that are lost on today’s youth. Since we are a one income family with no outside assistance; I’ve come to rely on those lessons even more now. I throughly enjoy your blog as it gives me a feeling of accomplishment when I am able to buy food on sale and stretch it out into 2-3 meals……I was attempting to make apple jelly from peelings/cores the other day in another frugal project but got syrup instead but it will taste wonderful on pancakes. Waste not want not. As a 46 year old vegetarian with a meat eating spouse; I need all of the “old school” ways I can get. I fear that those who possess these skills will be better off than those who don’t in the near future. Keep on doing what you do!! Much love from NC.
    Phyllis

    • Anita
      November 21, 2016

      Phyllis something similar happened to me with grapes a few days ago. I was trying to make jelly without pectin but got syrup instead. Ladybug and family used it on vanilla ice cream. I believe you’re right that those of us who know these skills will be better off. Like you I believe hard times are not long away. I also believe we will be in high demand to teach the skills when the time comes.

  2. sarasinart
    November 18, 2016

    Very well said. Those who would complain about what you write have never, and will never, understand it all.

  3. Jasna
    November 18, 2016

    You are SO right, Anita!!! It takes all kinds to make a world. Hugs from Chilean Patagonia.

    • Anita
      November 18, 2016

      Jasna hi! How is life treating you there?

  4. Donna
    November 17, 2016

    See Anita, that’s part of the problem these days. People who want to make you conform to their opinion. This is supposed to be a country where you can express your opinion without fear. Some people just don’t see it that way. It’s your show, state your opinions.

    • Anita
      November 18, 2016

      Sometimes I read blogs of people who have different thoughts than me. I may not agree with them but that doesn’t mean I’m not interested in what they have to say. I may learn something useful. There are two sides to every coin. One side can’t exist without the other side.

  5. Margie in Toronto
    November 17, 2016

    WELL SAID! Good for you!

  6. Cynthia
    November 17, 2016

    Well said. (And sorry someone was less than kind in differing with you. That attitude seems to be rampant these days.)

    • Anita
      November 18, 2016

      Yes, the attitude is rampant and probably the biggest reason for all the shootings.

  7. Leslie Saunders
    November 17, 2016

    Anita, I agree about your latest thoughts on this website being about you, and your opinions. Last time I looked, this is still the U.S.A., where that is essential to our way of life. Our next door neighbor is mad at my husband and me, for voting for a third party candidate in this election. She says people like us caused Donald
    Trump to win. I told her last time I checked, this is still a free country, etc, etc.
    We don’t economize because it’s cute,or trendy, by because it’s essential. The more you learn about frugality, and the more skills you acquire, the better quality of life you will have, no matter what happens. Thanks again for your writing and sharing.

    • Anita
      November 18, 2016

      In all the elections I’ve seen through my life this one is the nastiest I’ve ever seen. Maybe Trump will change things and maybe not. I fear those who control the food supply more than I fear a president making bad decisions. Those who control the food, control the people. Its while people are intently watching whatever is popular news that quiet changes are made quietly. By the time anyone notices its too late. I’m with you. Living frugally is making my life better.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
