Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Happy 2017

Its a new year and I barely noticed the change happen.  In past years there would have been the sounds of gun shots from all directions as people in the neighborhood celebrated.  The sounds of gun shots would start about an hour before and continue for at least an hour after midnight.  I usually had to lay on the floor in the hallway to avoid any stray bullets if they should happen to hit the house.

On the news this morning it was reported that in the old neighborhood a toddler had been hit by a stray bullet.  The child is going to live, thank goodness.  This year it was totally different at my new house.  So quiet!   I heard only one gun being fired and it was from a distance away.  I slept very well in my own bed.

Today is my birthday.  I’ll celebrate quietly by going to bingo and later eating black eye peas with corn pones and a piece of carrot pie for desert.  First thing tomorrow I’m going to put the first quilt of 2017 on the machine to get started.  I’ve had some time off but now its time to start working again.  IF I have any customers.  That’s going to be the big test for me.  Do I still have customers or if not will I be able to get new ones this year.

I’m wishing everyone everywhere to forget about the dark and dismal  past year to have a much brighter year to come.  May the new year give you the strength to face the challenges of life and courage to adjust your path around those boulders so as to take every challenge in stride.   May you all have fun, joy, peace, love, caring, luck, and prosperity in this new year.

Anita (aka Na Na)

New house 2016 001

25 comments on “Happy 2017

  1. Margie in Toronto
    January 3, 2017

    Happy New Year – and a Very Happy Birthday! Thank God there was no gunfire to deal with – truly shocking. Thee were some fireworks going off in my neighbourhood but I really rather enjoy those!

  2. Meg
    January 3, 2017

    Dear Anita I am so glad that you have had a peaceful start to you New Year I hope this year brings you lots of orders for your quilts.
    I hope this year brings you Gods richest blessings. Meg

  3. boblosan
    January 3, 2017

    Anita, I’m so happy for you – that you are in a much safer neighborhood! Happy 2017 – and I wish you health, love, enough food, heat, friendship, kindness, creativity, customers and prosperity.

    • Anita
      January 3, 2017

      Thats a lot of good wishes. Thank you and I wish the same for you.

  4. Shelley
    January 2, 2017

    Belated wishes Anita – I hope your birthday was everything you hoped for and blessed New Year!

  5. wjcalderon
    January 2, 2017

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!
    I hope 2017 is a wonderful year for you and just the start of many more.

    • Anita
      January 3, 2017

      I like your gravatar. That is what I have in mind for my garden spot. How is it working for you?

      • wjcalderon
        January 4, 2017

        Anita, the raised beds work great for me. I plant tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, etc. in the center and use the cinder block “holes” for herbs and annual flowers.
        I’ve had 2 of these for about 10 years. Every 2 or 3 years, I have to add some gardening soil.

        • Anita
          January 4, 2017

          Thanks, I’m thinking the same way is good for me too. I have a bunch of the concrete blocks already courtesy of my brother. Probably enough for two or three fair size beds. I like that I will be able to change the size easily. Larger or smaller depending on what works for me. The best part is that it won’t rot away like wood.

  6. Cynthia
    January 1, 2017

    Such a cute, cozy, and safe house. Wishing you a happy and healthy New Year!

  7. Leslie Saunders
    January 1, 2017

    Happy Birthday and New Year to you too! We started our New Year here in Az, with a nice community potluck. Not only is it great to share in home cooking and cleanup, but it is a perfect way to visit, while gathering new recipes and ideas. We had some fireworks early in the evening, but we are so rural in the desert here,that you don’t hear much. We lived in the city for many years, and while there are nice people anywhere you go, I really love the clean air, peace and quiet out here.
    Wishing all your readers happiness, and the life they really want for themselves.
    I look forward to reading more of your wisdom and insights in 2017.

    • Anita
      January 3, 2017

      There are times when I can pretend I’m out in the country if I don’t look out the window to see houses. Its just very quiet here. Like being away from the city.

  8. Pat
    January 1, 2017

    Happy birthday and happy new year to you! I like the idea of going to Bingo to celebrate as I intend to do the exact same thing on my birthday next week. Glad you’re in a safer place.

    • Anita
      January 3, 2017

      I sure hope you have better luck at the bingo than I did. I just had fun getting out of the house but I also met a new quilt customer so it wasn’t a total loss for the day.

  9. Linda S
    January 1, 2017

    Today is my birthday too! I was born 20 minutes past midnight, 1946, one of the very first baby boomers. I, too, am living in a new place & loving it. I’m sure you will have no shortage of customers.

    • Anita
      January 3, 2017

      HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY LINDA!!! Sorry, I didn’t see this before today. There was a warehouse fire not far from here and the power was off all day yesterday for safety of the firemen.

  10. Donna
    January 1, 2017

    I sincerely hope you have a beautiful 2017. You are truly an inspiration to us all. Your blog provides much needed inspiration to so many. I always look forward to your gems of knowlege and advice. Now please explain carrot pie. I have never heard of it.

    • Anita
      January 3, 2017

      Thank you Donna. I posted the carrot pie recipe. Let me know if you try it and like it.

  11. Tegan Mally
    January 1, 2017

    Happy birthday and Happy New Year! (Very intrigued by the idea of carrot pie!)

  12. Kathleen
    January 1, 2017

    HAPPY New Year Anita!!!!!
    Kathleen

  13. mem37814
    January 1, 2017

    great price on LED bulbs at Cosco which we do not have but found 40w LED bulbs at $ Tree for $1 ea. I plan on buying these for the kids birthday presents.

    • Anita
      January 3, 2017

      My LED bulbs are guaranteed for 30 years so it will be a long time before I need to replace them. But thanks for the tip. Maybe a reader can use the heads up.

  14. mem37814mildred
    January 1, 2017

    Happy Birthday and a happy 2017, May I suggest if u need more quilts to quilt-to put a card w/ your name,phone number etc. at places where material is sold to make quilts. Glad u r enjoying your new home.. Love hearing from u

  15. Nancy Lotzer
    January 1, 2017

    Carrot pie? I’ve never heard of that. I’m guessing that it’s really wonderful. Please share the recipe! Happy New Year!

    • Anita
      January 3, 2017

      I just posted it. Let me know how you liked the pie.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2017 by in DOWNSIZING MY LIFE, FRUGAL SENIOR, JUST THINKING, MY NEW NEIGHBORHOOD.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
