Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Horoscope

This was my horoscope yesterday:

The outer world mirrors the inner; the itch to power through a pile of clutter often indicates that an emotional purging needs to take place. You’re ready to clean house in every sense while the tenacious Aries Moon heats up your 4th House of Foundations. Keeping busy with chores allows your mind to sort itself out in the background, running through what you can eliminate and what to cherish. Reshuffling your priorities unlocks a sense of peace and calm.

I think it fits how I feel today.

8 comments on “Horoscope

  1. T
    February 1, 2017

    Interesting, I’ve been thinking about this too.

    I find it hard to decide what to keep, what to give away, and it is a slow process ‘purging’. There are possessions relating to relationships which ended years ago, in some cases they hold more negative memories than positive! Yet I find it hard letting go of some things.

    If every time I go through the door I take a bag of things for goodwill or something I find it easier.

    Since my son moved back home I am finding myself stockpiling food, he is always hungry! But he’s very picky and what he likes one month he won’t eat the next ( I know, I know ) So I’ve been taking a bag of food to the church for the food pantry of the extra stuff. I eat very little these days so it’s no use to me.

    I pay very little for our food now I have the hang of Kroger coupons, if I only buy items on special then add a coupon some stuff I have even got free. And Kroger here gives away a free item every Friday- some are good quality like breakfast bars or can of soup. I think it’s good for my brain too to work out what’s free or nearly free- sometimes takes a bit of math with all the ‘buy three’ or ‘buy six’ rigmarole…

    I’ve started taking some iron pills from the health food store, and I try to eat red meat at least once a week, I am feeling weak and anemic. I feel run down all round to be honest, but I think part of that is bereavement, it does affect us physically I think.

    I’d love to do what you did and get my blood sugar down naturally so I can stop taking diabetes meds, I think they cause a certain level of malnutrition too with the side effects…and together with bp meds it can’t be good for the kidneys long term.

    Will take a few clothes out with me in a bit that I no longer wear, there’s a charity bin by the supermarket.

    • Anita
      February 2, 2017

      T, a few years ago someone told me “a thing is not a memory” which helps me purge. That changed my thinking when deciding what to get rid of. If I really need something to hang onto for a memory then a photograph of the item works but takes up much less room. I got lucky here at the new house. There is a charity called Cedar Lake that picks up at my door once a month. Each day when I’m cleaning anything I come across I don’t want anymore goes into a box I have set aside for donations. The convenient pick up sure helps me because I don’t have a car.

      Yes, being sad over a loss effects our health a lot. I’m speaking from experience. It takes about a year to stop being in the grieving fog. Some will take longer but eventually the fog clears and we begin living again. You won’t realize you have been in the fog until the fog clears.

      T, you CAN get your blood sugar down. I know you can do it. I believe in you. It will take a little bit of work on your part. I say this in the kindness way. Don’t DIET. EAT! The less you eat the worse your diabetes is going to be. Stop listening to all the “diabetes professionals” and become your own professional. Look, really look, at what you are eating. Read the ingredients carefully. If you can’t say it or spell it the ingredient can’t be good. What the ingredient really is, is hidden behind the strange name. Keep telling yourself “if its made in a lab I’ll need a lab to digest it.” That includes fake sugar too.

  2. kathi
    February 1, 2017

    ah, so true on so many levels. I am determined to not let the actions, opinions, rants, etc of others to change, ie hurt me. I now truly know that every moment is precious. I am trying dilligently to not let “the others” take away my Joy, and/or my “me” if you will. ENJOY the PURGE.

    • Anita
      February 2, 2017

      I do much better by persuasion than force anytime. I too know how precious life is and I don’t want to take away one moment from it by bickering and hype. Watching so much media I was becoming hyped up too. I’m glad I came to my senses.

  3. Linda S
    February 1, 2017

    Haha – Anita, as you know, you & I share a birthday (a couple of old goats?) & while I didn’t read my horoscope lately this is exactly what I’ve been doing! I moved just 6 months ago so how I have so much crap to get rid of, I don’t know. I rarely purchase anything because I can’t afford to so where did this all come from? I’ve been a cleaning, sorting, purging machine this week.

    • Anita
      February 2, 2017

      Yes, the STUFF creatures and the CRAP creatures do multiply faster than rabbits don’t they? It sneaks in one small item at a time. I only read my horoscope now and then because it pops up on the computer screen when I turn it on. We goats climb the mountain one step at a time.

  4. Roberta
    February 1, 2017

    I would take that lady off your Christmas Pie list.

    • Anita
      February 2, 2017

      Um, I think you’re right.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2017 by in JUST THINKING.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
