Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

I’m still here

You may have wondered why I haven’t posted in the last few days.  Well, as I wrote in an earlier post that I went back to doing quilting work.  But, I had to take a few days off from the quilting for customers to make one for my newest grand daughter.   Due to arrive the end of March.  This is when I was making the pieces and pinning them to a design board.

quilts-my-own-2017-009

I needed to have it finished by the baby shower which was yesterday.  Everyone liked the quilt.  My daughter was very surprised.  She didn’t know I was making it.  When my daughter held it up for everyone to see, Spanky took one look and ran right up to hug the new kid he had just spotted.

quilts-my-own-2017-027

That was so cute!  Yes, he’s a hugger.  Loves to hug everybody.  Apparently the quilt got his approval.  I couldn’t ask for a better compliment than that.

16 comments on “I’m still here

  1. Leslie Saunders
    March 7, 2017

    What a work of art! Your family is lucky to have such beautiful presents.
    Blessings to all of you.

    • Anita
      March 8, 2017

      Thank you Leslie.

  2. Melinda
    March 6, 2017

    That is so precious! Congratulations on your newest grandchild. 🙂

  3. sarasinart
    March 6, 2017

    It’s so cute! Best wishes for the family.

  4. Jean Bender Bontrager
    March 5, 2017

    Beautiful work!

  5. KAYTHEGARDENER
    March 5, 2017

    Na-Na
    Congratulations on another grandkid to be!!
    Best to all in the family…

  6. Jane
    March 5, 2017

    Aaahhh, Spanky is so cute! That’s a beautiful gift, Anita, and it’s wonderful that a new wee one is coming into your life. (Wish there were more for me; only one & there are no more coming.)

    • Anita
      March 7, 2017

      Thanks Jane. This one was totally unexpected.

  7. Linda S
    March 5, 2017

    Your family is growing quickly! Seems like just the other day you were announcing your grandson. It’s true what the “old folks” used to tell us; the older you get the faster the time flies. Congratulations on the new baby AND an adorable quilt.

    • Anita
      March 7, 2017

      Thanks Linda. Yes, WE are now the old folks saying time passes so quickly.

  8. Margie in Toronto
    March 5, 2017

    How lovely to have a new granddaughter on the way – you are certainly entitled to have your family time come first. And what a lovely gift o have her own personalized quilt!

    • Anita
      March 7, 2017

      I try to make a quilt for all the new arrivals in the family.

  9. Donna
    March 5, 2017

    Love, love, love the quilt! You are so talented! Such a wonderful love gift to have forever. My daughter in law made me a quilt for Christmas with pictures of my grandkids on it. I cried when I opened it. Such a very special gift. I keep it on the foot of my bed to enjoy all the time. Gifts like this are so so much better than purchased ones.

    • Anita
      March 7, 2017

      I need to learn the technique for putting photo on fabric. I get requests for grandkid photo quilts often and must turn them down.

  10. Cynthia
    March 5, 2017

    I love the quilt! And even more the little guy hugging it! That is totally something my daughter would have done. She was quite the hugger, too.

    • Anita
      March 7, 2017

      Thanks Cynthia. Huggers sure have a way of making someone feel good.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
