Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Top 100 blogs scam

I got another one of those absurd comments saying I was awarded the distinction of being one of the top 100 picks for frugal living blogs from someone I’ve never heard of before.  Apparently my rank was number 89.  He said I now have his permission to put his logo on my blog.  I wonder why would some stranger believe I even want his award or to display his logo?  I did not enter any blog contest so what do I care about his award?  Anybody, even me, can create an award button to put on my own blog if I want to.  Heck, why don’t I just create a whole bunch of awards buttons while I’m at it.  Put them all on my blog and make myself look like I’m the best darned blog writer in the world and what will it get me?  I make NO money from my blog.

I don’t care what-so-ever if some stranger gave me permission to link to his blog through a button he created so he can make a ton of advertising money from my work.  In my opinion that is simply a different version of the “re-blog” sites who steal blog posts because they are too lazy or too ignorant to write for themselves.  Its all about the money folks.  All about the money.  Its 21st century robbery.

I do like knowing how many people are reading about my frugal experiences but the “ranking” number on the blog of some stranger in some far away place doesn’t do anything for me.  His award button says nothing about WordPress so its not from them.  It says nothing about Google so its not from them. Hmm… let me ask you this.  When you do a search for information on the internet do you specifically put in the words “top 100” for what you are searching?  I don’t.  Did anyone visit my blog as a result of a top 100 ranking?  Not likely.

Honestly, when searching the internet for anything I’d much rather find blogs of people with just a few subscribers.  Why?  Because those are the ones who would also have the time to answer serious questions.  Now really, think about it, if someone has 250,000 subscribers just how many comments and questions can they answer in a day?  I sometimes struggle to find enough time to answer two or three a day because of all the life things to be done everyday.  I’d have to hire a whole bunch of helpers to read then answer thousands of questions and comments each day.

I’m not writing my blogs to be in competition or to make money from it.  I write because I like to write about what I believe may help someone who is also struggling to make ends meet. When it comes to being poor, I’m an expert.   I’ve spent a lifetime practicing being poor.  Everyone knows practice makes perfect.  Writing my blog is not about the money or the recognition; its about telling my story and sharing information.  Its about giving others the courage to be courteous and kind even when the world seems set against you.  My blog is about neighbor helping neighbor even when that neighbor is thousands of miles away at the other end of the world.

Other times I get scams in my email that look very much like legitimate interests in my blog.  Here is a quote from an email I got a few days ago.

After checking out your blog, I just had to reach out to you because I thought you’d love our upcoming project, Save vs. Splurge.
Would you be interested in sharing how you decide if something is worth splurging for in our Save or Splurge project? We’re hoping to make this fun and educational! For instance, how do you plan for a splurge purchase and when do you focus on saving? It’s definitely a balancing act. Have you splurged on anything recently? I just splurged on a high-end vacuum and I couldn’t be happier with my decision after being frustrated with my old one. Sometimes cheap costs you more in the long run, right?
Please let me know your thoughts when you get a moment about this idea for a blog topic. We’ll also be sharing some of these educational posts with our social following Thank you for your time and consideration 🙂

Looks legitimate doesn’t it?  I get these kinds of emails often.  I don’t believe these people have ever actually read my blog.  The request came from a site that is supposedly a couple of financial experts who want me to write a post then send my readers to their ad heavy website to read it.  That doesn’t make any sense to me.  Shouldn’t my readers read my posts on my blog instead of somewhere else?  Why would a financial expert need me to write a post about whether to save or splurge?  Shouldn’t the financial experts be the one with that kind of knowledge?  They have 350,000 followers so why ask me to write for them?  I’m not a follower.  Not even a reader.  They have all those followers so why not ask them to write posts about save or splurge?  That would be 350,000 potential post to read.   Even better, with that many followers why not start an online forum for like minded people?  A forum would create lots more traffic than a simple post from me.  Geeze, scammers don’t have any common sense.

I wish!

I write my blogs because I like to write and share ideas.  Reader comments are an important part of my blog.  Comments are like a small group of friends sharing ideas with each other.  Everyone benefits without a dollar sign attached.  I don’t always have time to read or answer comments because I may be standing in a food bank line or earning legitimate money from actual work.  My life comes before computer or internet time.  Which reminds me, I have a finished quilt I need to photo and box up for its return home.

18 comments on “Top 100 blogs scam

  1. captnmike
    March 12, 2017

    yes they are all scams – help with traffic or search engines – put a link to them and nominate some other sucker and on and on – used to help in the WordPress.com help forum and we would see questions about these scams all the time

    good for your passing on the golden opportunity

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      I’m sure glad there is a place to ask otherwise I’d probably be a victim a lot. Yea for the help forums and all the capt mikes working there.

  2. Linda S
    March 12, 2017

    Well, I award you as one of my very favorite bloggers! Doesn’t mean much but there it is. Speaking of scams, I have received 3 phone calls in the last week notifying me I’ve won an all-expense-paid cruise to the Bahamas. Oh, but that’s countered by the serious sounding voice that tells me it’s very important they talk to me about my credit card balance. I’ve never had a credit card.

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      Yeah, I’ve gotten a bunch of those too. I don’t have credit cards either. I get four to five spam phone calls every single day. This week its been my car warranty is about to run out but a couple of weeks ago it was the police department collecting for a kids camp. I don’t have a car and the police don’t do fundraising by phone. The most hilarious is the one telling me that my windows computer is messing up the entire internet.

  3. Jean Bender Bontrager
    March 12, 2017

    I agree. Your’s is the most real blog that I know of. That is why I read! And you are funny!

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      Thank you Jean. Life is too short to not see the humor in it.

  4. nancy lotzer
    March 12, 2017

    Just wanted to let you know that I love my under mattress pad heater. You have such wonderful ideas! I only run it for about 30 minutes before I get into bed to take the chill from the sheets. That is just enough to keep me warm and toasty. Thanks!

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      Thank you Nancy. Has it helped with keeping your utility bill low? I keep mine on during the night at a low setting. Its cheaper to run the bed warmer than the furnace.

  5. Jasna
    March 12, 2017

    Very well said, Anita! Hugs from Patagonia on a rainy Sunday.
    Jasna

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      Jasna, I’m pretty sure that spam is a universal problem but I’m curious do you have major problems with internet or phone scammers there too?

  6. sarasinart
    March 12, 2017

    I know a lot of my followers are bots or people who I call “cling ons”, those that want another link to increase their traffic. It’s good to know which people are real people, bloggers who want to share real info with other real bloggers.

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      Hey, I like that name, cling ons. Good one. The word fake seems to be so popular these days maybe we should call the scam blogs the “fake bloggers”?

  7. Margie in Toronto
    March 12, 2017

    You have a very sensible approach to those sorts of emails – I am much more cautious now about which sites I visit or which I check out simply because of the different scams out there and because it is becoming more difficult to avoid being inundated with emails that are really adverts to try to get you to spend more.
    Honestly – if they had actually read your website they’d see that you have very little to save – aside from the canning and/or freezing of food – and I don’t remember you ever being ABLE to splurge – although I’m sure you’d love to every now and again.
    Just carry on as you see fit Nana.

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      You are so right. Its so difficult to avoid the money hungry ogre’s these days.

  8. Leslie Saunders
    March 12, 2017

    Young people have a saying,”keeping it real.” Thanks, Anita, for keeping your site real. I am one of your neighbors, living in the desert of Az., who uses your wisdom to meet everyday life here. We live in a senior housing community where everyone would be considered modest income, and we help each other as well, whether it’s a ride or picking something up for a neighbor while we are out , it improves quality of life here. Reading your posts is sharing your gift with us…your gift for writing and making you topics clear and easy to understand.

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      You are blessed to be living in a nice place like that. In the old neighborhood no one did anything for free. Not even pick up something at a store they were already going to anyway. Of course here in this new neighborhood no one knows me so no one offers anything. I rarely even see a neighbor here.

  9. craftytadpole
    March 12, 2017

    You are one of my top 100! Keep up the good work.

    • Anita
      March 14, 2017

      This means so much more than those fake awards. Thank you.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
