Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Telling lies

Tell a lie a hundred times and it becomes the truth.  (Goebbels, 1939, propaganda minister for Adolph Hitler)

A lie unchallenged becomes truth within 24 hours.   (Willie Brown, California politician)

From Hitler in Mein Kampf;

  1. The broad mass of a nation,, will more easily fall victim to a big lie than to a small one.
  2. Only constant repetition will finally succeed in imprinting an idea on the memory of the crowd.
  3. The greater the lie, the greater the chance that it will be believed.

The truth is often discussed and questioned with everyone having very different definitions.  I don’t think truth can be explained.  In court they ask you to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.  That’s impossible to do because no one can actually define truth.  Truth is experienced, not explained.   (unknown)

MY PERSONAL OPINION:  Well heck, I’ve been telling myself for years that I’m not poor but actually have tons of money and it ain’t true yet.  I must be telling my lie all wrong.

23 comments on “Telling lies

  1. KAYTHEGARDENER
    March 19, 2017

    I read your blog regularly, Na-Na, because you have an optimistic outlook on life. Here is another senior frugal blogger in the UK with a similar attitude — google “life after Money” blog…
    You don’t let circumstances keep you down for long & that is a big help for all of your readers…
    Congratulations on the new sprouts in the family tree!!

    • Anita
      March 19, 2017

      I googled it but got several. Which one are you referring to? Naw, I don’t stay down long. Just enough to revitalize myself and jump back into life again. As Kathi said, its most likely the wintertime blues. I’m so ready for warm weather again.

      • Margie in Toronto
        March 19, 2017

        Here is the link Nana: http://meanqueen-lifeaftermoney.blogspot.ca

        Her name is Ilona and she calls herself “MeanQueen” but she’s not – she’s quite delightful in her own quirky, slightly eccentric way. She’s often on TV and Radio in the UK just because I think they find her quite funny – and she is very creative artistically.
        She doesn’t preserve food but she’s got a lot of tips – but it’s mainly about what works for her and if it works for someone else then great! I get a real kick out of her.

        • Anita
          March 19, 2017

          Thank you. I did go read some of her blog. She does a lot of walking. You’re right, she does have some humourous ways. A bit more frugal than I would be but I do like her style. I can see why she’d be popular on tv and radio.

  2. kathi
    March 18, 2017

    oh DEAR friend. I am now seeing a scene from “Jesus Christ, Super Star”. WHAT ARE TRUTHS? we ALL have TRUTHS. DON’T LOOSE HOPE. you ARE RICH. abundantly RICH. you have FAMILY. lady bug. (that i just mentioned to my own Amazing A;s the other day) FRIENDS. and a job you LOVE to do. YOU ARE in a MUCH SAFER place. “money” is NOT in itself RICHES. WE ALL DESIRE MORE MONEY. for what we can DO with it. I ponder. “if WE being mere people know how to give GOOD GIFTS to our children. HOW MUCH MORE DOES GOD know?” today, i was thinking. WHAT FUN it would be to TOSS BUCKS at family, friends. ok a bit for me………..and IT hit me. IF I WOULD HAVE SO MUCH FUN with mere money. WHAT GIFTS does GOD truly GIVE US? much better. We just have to look around. YOU ARE NOT telling yourself a lie. YOU ARE declaring the TRUTH. You are just saying it wrong. “not poor”.. nope. FOCUS on WHAT YOU HAVE. you are RICHLY BLESSED. and on we go.

    • Anita
      March 18, 2017

      Thanks Kathi, you are right I have a lot of blessings with all the grands and great grands I have and more to arrive over the next few months. Daughter’s baby due end of March, another daughter’s baby due in May, Grand daughter’s baby due in the fall. Its just that sometimes I’d like to buy something just because I could and not keep reminding myself the money is for paying a bill.

      • kathi
        March 19, 2017

        you have the “spring depression” as i call it. for me “birthday blues” or what others say.. IS WINTER OVER YET ALREADY? blues. you CAN “fudge” now and then on a bill. HONEST.. you can…………….. love you so much…………….. go BUY YOURSELF SOMETHING already. it WILL BE AOK.

        • Anita
          March 19, 2017

          Yes, you are right. Winter time blues. I’m gonna snap out of it, I do know it. I’ve a couple of quilt checks coming that I will help.

  3. T
    March 18, 2017

    Life is very difficult in America because we have no health care system proper. I hope you are okay? It is very difficult negotiating poverty…

    • Anita
      March 18, 2017

      I’m fine so far. Trying to stay healthy with basic foods. I believe poverty is going to be getting a whole lot harder with the reductions in all low income programs. As the politicians say “just stop being poor”. Yeah, I’ve been telling myself to stop being poor all my life and it ain’t worked.

      • T
        March 19, 2017

        I think the biggest problem with US politicians is they have to be super-wealthy to run for office and they have on the whole little concept of or compassion for poverty.

        Like you I have always worked and paid my way, but getting sick was a sobering experience, and the healthcare reforms even more so because it demonstrated clearly that the large corporations run america, undermining the democracy. We are a step or two away from becoming illiberal democracy, with a nominal vote casting system but where a handful of power elites do what they want anyway.

        I consider myself far from poor, but I still can’t see the doctors I need without totally compromising my economic security. All this money wasted too, taxpayer money, and so little achieved.

        Young people would do well to preserve health through decent diet, not smoking or drinking, regular exercise- because many of them having already gone into huge debt for education will find as soon as they work through that they will need to undertake debts to pay the insurance deductibles and things not covered on the health insurance policies.

        The American Dream is simply not achievable for lots of people, despite all the hype about ‘make America great again.’

        Not that I think there is anything great about bigotry or racism or rapacity, if that’s what’s underlying the latest government fads which will waste enormous sums of money and achieve very little so far as I can see.

        I don’t know about winter blues, I have taken a break from watching the news and made a concerted effort to eat well, sleep well, read fun things, be out in nature etc. The demagogues come and they go, but health is too precious to waste on worrying about them.

  4. Donna
    March 17, 2017

    How true, especially lately.

    • Anita
      March 18, 2017

      So you have been noticing it too?

  5. sarasinart
    March 17, 2017

    Good post, Anita! There are too many lies all around us.

    • Anita
      March 18, 2017

      Yes, lies are in what we eat, what we watch, what we hear, what we wear, and on and on. Its like life is not real anymore but is like sci fi. The worst part is that the children born today won’t know the difference between lies and truth.

      • sarasinart
        March 19, 2017

        That’s true. I keep thinking of teenagers now who are forming their ideas based on what they see and live. Like a bad dream that we want to wake up from.

        • Anita
          March 19, 2017

          Me too. A really bad dream.

  6. Leslie Saunders
    March 17, 2017

    Anita, you are so right.”No” is a word we must learn to say. No ones time, money, or talents need to be given away for them. One comment about land lines vs. cell phones. The scammers are now calling our cell phone. I don’t think the do not call registry works very well here in Az.

    • Anita
      March 18, 2017

      The do not call registries are no good anywhere. The scammers either ignore it completely or find the loop holes to keep using robo calls. These calls can really hurt anyone who uses prepaid phones and pays per minute of use.

      • Kathleen Waite
        March 18, 2017

        faith   FAITH is the SUBSTANCE of things we do not see.    YES there ARE scammers and crooks and my new area word.  “grifters”. BUT WE ARE NOT THEM.     SOMEWHERE i think in psalm 34.  THE ANGEL OF THE LORD. is EM BEDDED.  probably not the right word.  BUT. he is THERE. oh.  ENTranced..that’s the word.  imagine.  remember. THE ANGEL OF THE LORD is ENTRENCHED.. around THOSE who FEAR him.  (as in. fear the Lord. as in RESPECT and honor HIM, ETC.. NOT scared out of one’s wits.  just LOVE. etc)   we can talk about “fear” later.     OR. in the words of Bobby McFarren.  DON’T WORRY.  BE HAPPY.. life is VERY SHORT.  this Korean thing could have me in a tiz if i let it. Just wanna see THE FLASH.. BE YOU TODAY.             that’s all we got.  

        ENCAMPED.  that was the proper word.    JUST BE YOU.  and STOP the worry……………………. and on we go Kathi Flint Mi Ultimate II http://Hepulledmeoutofthepicklebarrel.blogspot.com/

        • Anita
          March 18, 2017

          I’ve been repeating Bobby McFarren’s phrase for days and days. I do say a lot of prayers. I’m not really an alarmist but I keep wondering why the buildup in military is more important than meals on wheels, free school lunches, medications for seniors, day care assistance, and utility help. At the same time Trump is building up the military he is insulting all the country leaders who are just as crazy as he is. And ALL OF THEM have access to a red button of destruction.

  7. camcoogan
    March 17, 2017

    If you have been telling yourself that for years and it hasn’t come true, then that pretty much blows away the premise of the book ‘The Secret’, doesn’t it? 😀 Actually, I never read the book, not a believer in that stuff. You might be poor but you live a rich life. Thanks for sharing it in your blog. I enjoy reading it.

    • Anita
      March 18, 2017

      Ha Ha, Yes, it does and I’ve never read the book either. Just read a couple of reviews to know it wasn’t one for me. Those kinds of books come along after every major event in history and it never works.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2017 by in ECONOMIC OBSERVATIONS, FRUGAL SENIOR, HUMOR, JUST THINKING and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 240,682 Hits
