Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Canning jar mop

Grandma Mama had a jar mop made with rags tacked to the end of a short tree branch Grandpa Papa had made smooth with a carving knife.  I wash lots of canning jars so I wanted a dish mop too.   I started to make one myself but then it occurred to me I could buy a BBQ sauce mop to use.  You probably know about using those already.  I waited all winter for the summer cookout items to show up in stores.  A few days ago I finally found one.

It works great!  Fits right in there to get everything off the bottom.

It works really well for glasses too.

Wringing the mop gets most of the water out but I didn’t want to put it away under the sink where it could sour or leave water there.  So I put a hook on the cabinet where it could hang to dry.  A water catcher underneath catches the drips.

Someday when the mop part wears out I can use the handle to make a new one easily.  I’m very happy how easy the jars get washed now.

8 comments on “Canning jar mop

  1. kathleen
    May 25, 2017

    I bought a brand new toilet brush…and hung it on a hook in the kitchen as a glass and dish cleaner…things I can’t fit my hand into easily..
    Works great….bottle washers wear out too easy…they are too wimpy..toilet brushes last a long time..at least the one I bought..about…3 years ago.

    • Anita
      May 26, 2017

      Thanks Kathleen that would work too. I’ll keep that in mind when I need to buy another one.

  2. T
    May 21, 2017

    After you said keep an eye out in the Krogers that are downsizing around here I finally found ice cube trays and burner pans for the stove at half price today, so I was happy : )

    ‘Wait’ is a great budgeting strategy, often the making do becomes enough, but most things seem to show up on sale eventually.

    Glad you were pleased with your improv brush!

    • Anita
      May 21, 2017

      Big thumbs up! Now you know my secret for finding bargains. 🙂 Wait.

  3. Jean Bender Bontrager
    May 20, 2017

    Simple things like this make me happy!

  4. Cynthia
    May 20, 2017

    I have never seen those. I love that it has a wooden rather than plastic handle. My hand fits into wide mouth canning jar with the dish cloth but that sure would come in handy for a lot of other jars, vases, etc.

    • Anita
      May 20, 2017

      I liked that part too. At first it felt a little awkward using the large handle but now it feels just natural and sturdy.

  5. Linda S
    May 19, 2017

    Great idea!

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,310 Hits
