Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

I’ve had surgery

I suffered with a kidney stone.  For three days I waited, taking pain pills, believing the stone would pass.  I do drink water but apparently not enough to keep the stones from forming.  On the fourth day I went to the emergency room for help.  I was seen within a half hour of arriving.  A cat scan verified the stone. It was very close to being passed.  I was given more pain meds and sent home to drink more water.

Two days after that not even the pain meds were helping.  The pain was horrible.  I started running a fever and ached all over.  This HAD to be more than just a kidney stone.  So back to the emergency room I went.  I sat there for 4 hours in the lobby waiting to be seen.  I finally asked the triage nurse to just sign me out so I could go to the other hospital across the street.  He told me I was the next person in line so I decided to wait.  Ten minutes later I went to the back where the patients are seen.  You ever hear the expression, its the squeaky wheel that gets the attention?  After another two hours of waiting I started moaning really loud.  I figured if I must suffer in pain they might as well KNOW about it.  I would be the squeaky wheel.

It worked.  I guess the moaning was irritating enough for a doctor to pay attention.  Its kind of like being in a waiting room with a screaming baby.  The baby is put ahead of others just to get it out quickly.  Another two hours of waiting for tests results to come back.  A CT scan revealed not one but three oversize stones and a major infection in my kidney and bladder.  My fever had gone up too.  I was told I needed surgery which was scheduled for morning.  Heck, by now it was almost morning. It had taken a whole night to get a diagnosis.

An IV was put in my arm with a saline drip and antibiotics.  I was admitted to the hospital and given a room to await surgery.  I believed it would be done right away.  Not so.  It was five in the evening, a full twenty four hours after I first signed in, when I went to sleep for surgery.  I know the time because of the clock on the wall in the operating room as I drifted off.  I was the very last patient of the day.

I remained in the hospital for another 48 hours to get the fever and infection under control.  I came home from the hospital yesterday with more prescriptions and a stint in place.  I finally got a good night’s sleep in my own bed.  Hospital beds are not good for much except waiting.  I have doctor’s orders to not do any housework until at least Wednesday.    🙂  I can live with that.

I had started a draft of another money saving post before my illness.  I’ll finish it up and post it later today or in the morning.  I believe I’ve figured out how to cut my own personal water bill in half.   I’m excited to share it with you.  I’m also gonna need all the savings I can get in order to pay a hospital bill and doctor’s bills from the last several days.  Geeze!  Somebody or some thing is ALWAYS out to get my money from me.

32 comments on “I’ve had surgery

  1. janeisgreenJ
    June 13, 2017

    Be gone, stones! So glad that’s over with and you’re getting some R&R. Hope you’re on the mend and almost back to regular life now. (Nice to have a Ladybug to help out.)

    • Anita
      June 13, 2017

      She’s quite the little nurse.

  2. T
    June 12, 2017

    Hope you are feeling better.

    It’s very scary to be sick in the USA.

    Those ‘not-for-profit’ hospitals are generally nothing of the sort, though they are quite happy to keep asking for money as though it’s bona fide charity.

    • Anita
      June 12, 2017

      Yes, the not for profit status is just a tax evasion scam. Every time there is a fundraising campaign for that hospital I write a letter to the editor of our local tv stations telling my story. Most of the time at least one letter gets read on air. I don’t know if it hurts their campaign or not but it sure makes me feel better.

  3. craftytadpole
    June 12, 2017

    Feel better soon. Glad you are going to be okay.

  4. kathi
    June 12, 2017

    so sorry to hear how long it took for a doctor to actually see you in the ER. Most frustrating, as i know. We now always add “chest pains” whenever we have to go to the ER. not quite an out and out “lie” etc. and THEN you get right in. Sad. Happy there was surgery and you are home safe and sound. REST, take it VERY easy. and I’ll pray. Yes, bit by bit the bill gets paid, it’s the best we can do.

    • Anita
      June 13, 2017

      Yup, it was kinda like the early days when you had so much trouble getting David seen and diagnosed. Young people don’t have the same “caring” nature as people had when we were young. Ladybug is being quite the little nurse and even fixing me sandwiches to eat. Today she gets a lesson for making vegetable soup and homemade chocolate kisses.

  5. sarasinart
    June 12, 2017

    I’m so sorry you had to go thru all that! I hope you’re all healed up and better real quick.

  6. Leslie Saunders
    June 11, 2017

    So sorry for your painful episodes. I’m glad you got the help you needed, and are home now. Make yourself a priority, and take care.

    • Anita
      June 11, 2017

      Thanks Leslie. Its always a relief when a sudden illness is over. I’ve learned a lot about kidney stones while in the hospital. I asked a whole bunch of questions and all the doctors were willing to answer.

  7. Jill
    June 11, 2017

    Ouch! Nasty buggers those stones. I know what that’s like so I hope you are feeling better soon.
    One possible bright spot is your CFS symptoms may abate now that the stones are gone and the infection is finally cleared. You may have had a very low level infection for a while with 3 large stones and not even realized it.

    Hugs to you and your Ladybug helper.

    • Anita
      June 11, 2017

      Hey, thanks Jill, I hadn’t thought of that but you are probably very right. That could be the reason for the CFS episode. Thanks so much for reminding me. Hugs back to you.

  8. Lilly pickles
    June 11, 2017

    Jars not kids although I could possibly work out something with one of my kids.

    • Anita
      June 11, 2017

      Ha, ha, ha, the canning kids would work. They can work while I rest and supervise. 🙂

  9. Lilly pickles
    June 11, 2017

    I am so sorry for this painful episode you have had to deal with.I have heard that this is a really nasty one. As I write this, I am sitting in ICU . I can only imagine how long we will be here. Meanwhile I didn’t have any plans for the money I don’t have so I guess I will have to figure the bill out later. I wish you a speedy recovery. Flowers wouldn’t be real practical so instead I wish I could send you some oranges. Maybe some canning kids or rings. I hope you are pain free.

    • Anita
      June 11, 2017

      Ok Lilly, who is in ICU? Is it you or is it your daughter? I can’t remember was it you who had a daughter in the emergency room twice and you were hoping the deductible had been met? Whoever is there I hope for a speedy recovery too. Please let me know how things go, K? I send lots of hugs your way. (((Lilly)))

      • Lilly pickles
        June 12, 2017

        Sugar cookie is 28 with some special needs. She hasn’t been sick for many years. 103 fever with no cause. She is on 3 antibiotics and looking better. Although she has now caught pneumonia and a sinus infection. The longer we are here, the worse she will get. She can’t keep anything down. I am requesting the G I tomorrow and hope he has answers instead of everyone else just guessing. I am exhausted. Day 8 and an hour of sleep each night. This to shall pass. On the other hand, the hospital is great. Fantastic staff, great food, free internet and free parking. Cookie won’t eat anything but applesauce. I am enjoying her tray each day. Roast beef heaven.

        • Anita
          June 13, 2017

          Oh my, the poor thing. Mystery illnesses are no fun at all. I’m hoping she gets a diagnosis real quick and that both of you get to go home soon.

  10. Margie in Toronto
    June 11, 2017

    So sorry to hear this! A friend of mine suffers from kidney stones so I know how painful it can be. Is there family around to help you for the next little bit of time?

    Also sorry to hear that you will have to now worry about paying medical bills on top of everything. Do you have some insurance at least? Don’t mean to be nosy just curious as I hear such horror stories about the US system.

    I hope you recover quickly – take care.

    • Anita
      June 11, 2017

      I have medicare only. It does pay but there will be deductibles and co pays which are my responsibility. Most hospitals and doctors are willing to accept payment plans as long as I pay on time each month. Ladybug is going to spend a few days with me. She’s fairly good at helping around the house.

  11. Linda S
    June 11, 2017

    So sorry, Anita – all 3 of my sons have suffered with stones & I’ve seen how much pain they cause. Lay off that housework now!

    • Anita
      June 11, 2017

      I do not like pain so I’m not going to do much of anything while I recover. 🙂

  12. Cynthia
    June 11, 2017

    So sorry to hear about your pain, surgery, and the ridiculously long wait to be seen and attended to. I hope you recover quickly and that your bills are covered completely by Medicare so you don’t have to worry about how to pay. I would think they would be.

    • Anita
      June 11, 2017

      I’m pretty sure there will be deductibles and co pays but payment plans are easy to get too.

  13. Jeanie
    June 11, 2017

    Praying you will be healed!

  14. Sandy
    June 11, 2017

    So sorry. May you feel much better soon.

    • Anita
      June 11, 2017

      Thank you.

      • maris
        June 11, 2017

        About paying the deductable
        I also had surgery, mostly covered by medicare
        The rest was out of pocket.I was told to inquire
        about hospital funds to pay some of my bill.
        To my suprise the paid the reminder of my bill
        lucky me. Maybe you could look into this
        I like to tell you, how much I enjoy your blog

        • Anita
          June 12, 2017

          Yes we have that here too. I will expect the worst but hope for the best. That way I won’t be disappointed if I’m turned down. The last time I had stone surgery I was told because I had a roof over my head I didn’t qualify. They wouldn’t even let me apply. Thanks Maris, I’m glad to have you here.

Please leave a message after the beep........{BEEP}

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2017 by in FRUGAL SENIOR, JUST THINKING, PREPAREDNESS and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
