Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Water saving progress

I sure wish I could read the water meter but those are kept cleverly hidden underground and not visible to the homeowner.  I wouldn’t know how to read it anyway.  I’ll just have to be patient and wait for the good news with the next bill.  Yes, I’m sure its good news because I’ve really been frugal with the water.

I had no idea what a water saving monster I was about to create when I first decided to rescue good clean water so it wasn’t going straight from tap to sewer drain.  It only took a few days to completely change my water habits.  I’ve gone from a mindless faucet turning habit to one of “grab the water rescue bucket first” and feeling a little smug about how much money I’m NOT giving the water/sewer company anymore.

I no longer automatically turn on the tap for water.  I go to the rescued water bucket instead.   It feels great!  Morning coffee water comes from the water bucket.  Water to boil potatoes comes from the water bucket.  Water to wash dishes comes from the water bucket.  I heat it in a stock pot then transfer to the dish sink.  That’s saving electricity too.  Water for the pressure canner comes from the water bucket.  Water to make stew comes from the water bucket.  Water to fill ice trays comes from the bucket.  Well heck, all the ways I use clean water now comes from the bucket of rescued water.  I’m surprised at just how little water I need for normal activities.  I want to do more!

Last winter, whenever I took a shower, I plugged the bathtub to capture the hot shower water as a way to gain some heat for the house before the water went down the drain.  I’ve started capturing the shower water again but now I’m doing this for a different reason.  That captured grey shower water cannot escape before it does double duty.  Some is used for mopping floors and some is used for washing rugs in the washer.  I’m looking at other possibilities.

I was on a roll thinking of newer ways to rescue clean water or to reuse grey water.  Then I had some very crazy insane thoughts.  I’ll tell you about them but don’t be judgmental.  K?

I thought how crazy is it for a person to set on a big porcelain bowl to make about a cup of pee then use 3 or 4 gallons of good clean water to get rid of it?  Even the “let it mellow” suddenly seemed wasteful.  Maybe I should just pee outside?  Not gonna happen!  Although I do think its pretty stupid to go though the processes to create that good drinkable tap water so people can sit down to soil it and flush it away.

Well ok what about the “if its brown” part of flushing?  I could eliminate flushing poo at all if I wrapped it in junk mail then put it into the trash can to be hauled away to a landfill.  What?  Eww!  Well, didn’t you know all human waste eventually ends up in a landfill anyway?  Water companies only treat the water part of sewage.  The solids are renamed sludge, cleaned out of the tanks,  and sent to be buried in a landfill just like any other garbage.  It had to be renamed cause who would want to think about the poop landfills all around us?

By now you’re probably thinking Anita has really lost her mind aren’t you?  Who would do such a thing as wrapping poo in paper and trashing it instead of flushing?   So ok let me ask you a question.  What about all the soiled diapers being put into trash cans every day?  Aren’t those just poo wrapped in paper?  :-0  Would it change the way it sounded if I say I bought a bag of cheap-o diapers to wrap the poo instead of using junk mail?  Alright, enough of the crazy thoughts.  I’m just having a bit of fun.

A very dear long time friend, Kathi, lives in Flint, Michigan.  She has complained about the water company there for years and years.   I came across an article about the future of water written by a couple of professors at the University of Michigan.  Seeing the words water and Michigan together is what made me keep reading.  These professors say that within the next three to five years 1/3 of all Americans will no longer be able to afford clean water.  That’s not very long at all.  The days of affordable water are rapidly coming to an end and that’s kinda scary to think about.

Actually there are many families in the poorest neighborhoods already living without running water. Water is frequently turned off for lack of adequate money to pay the bill or any payment options.  What happens when too many low incomed families can’t pay the water/sewer bills?   The city raises the rate even more to cover the losses.  The higher rate then puts the middle class families at risk of no longer affordable clean water.

Rescuing my first bucket of water was only a feeble attempt to save a little money but has resulted in a much greater appreciation for the clean flowing water.   I waste much less water because I’ve changed my habits.  I’m amazed at just how little water I actually need each day.

Let me leave you with one more piece of advice to file away for the possibility you may someday be without running water.  Sponge baths are an alternative.  Sponge baths do get the job done with very little water.  But; if you are a senior like me, be sure to cover all the mirrors in the bathroom.  You want to know why?  Well its like this.  If you should catch a glimpse of yourself in the mirror you might just realize the lack of running water is the least of your problems.

37 comments on “Water saving progress

  1. T
    July 8, 2017

    I know your post isn’t about shopping, but it is about transparency and fairness in general so I will share with you my latest Kroger experience.

    They sent me an email with vouchers for five free products ( only one of which I would pay for incidentally ) then a $10 off a $50 ‘click list’ purchase. That’s when you pick up the stuff delivered to the parking lot.

    As a disabled woman I would appreciate that but I would want to see it in action, how long does the stuff sit out in a cart, is the order accurate etc.

    Well guess what, as you go through the checkout process first of all you are charged $5 ‘processing fee’. In my case waived this time, no explanation why. But wait- when I start to check out it’s back only this time called ‘product variation price fee’.

    Hmm. I only chose really simple products which are always the same price…

    Think I’ll pass!

    • Anita
      July 10, 2017

      My daughter looked at that too and she also decided to pass. The stores are trying to take away our ability to “choose for ourselves” by look and touch. Just one more way to control our access to available food. Here’s a prediction by a little old lady, a look into the future reveals no more brick and mortar stores, only online stores controlling everything we eat, wear, watch, learn, and live. Could this be a future of hunger games gone real?

      • T
        July 10, 2017

        Another thing to factor in- your pick up window is an hour, the website suggests turn up mid-way, if I have to sit waiting I might as well just go into the store, it’s 100 degrees here so I’d be running the car a/c, plus I would not trust to buying meat or frozen foods where it could sit around and spoil even in a few minutes!

        But that adding 10 % ‘pricing variation fee’ on items I know the prices don’t fluctuate, that was what annoyed me, because I think it’s complicated enough and lacks transparency already. I don’t want to give my credit card number and sign to allow a variable amount.

        The promised ‘coupons’ did not show up at that point either, so I wonder if they work.

        I used to order some food online from amazon, but the pricing became less competitive; I still use it some for other things as I hate shopping in general, but I never bothered trying ‘amazon pantry’.

        It does seem to me like the big companies whether it is for water, health care, food, electricity- all essentials- the companies seem to discourage controlled spending and budgeting and their policies have everyone in a dazed fog as to what the real costs are.

        The banks make their money from people servicing debt so there is no incentive to save, 0.5 % interest was the best rate on offer from my bank; yet if I run up some debt on a credit card the interest can be 25 %!

        It all feels so out of control and precarious.

        • Anita
          July 10, 2017

          Prices should not “vary” if you have chosen a store. All their actual prices are on the computer system and should not change just because someone chooses to let a store clerk do the shopping. The minute a product is purchased at the store a replacement is ready to be shipped. AND the central computer knows every price in every store. The shopping carts (even the ones for handicapped) are mapping every one of your movements through the store. It knows every item you stop to look at or pick up to compare. When you checkout at the register the cart gives a signal and your map connects to your loyalty card which you must use to get the sale prices or the points. The map and your purchases are sent to the main computer which is how they know what coupons to send you in the mail.

          You are so right. Its very deliberate. America’s whole economy is based on “spending” and not saving. “They” don’t want us to know because when we know the tricks we fight back. Not knowing makes us sheeple. Who is they? The people who design marketing strategy and the 1% at the top who hire them.

          In my person opinion its all been out of control since the end of WW2 and progressively gotten worse over the years. The grey tsunami is getting the worst of it because our minds are not as sharp as they used to be.

  2. Jasna
    July 2, 2017

    Thank you for all the good tips, Anita!
    J. from Chilean Patagonia

    • Anita
      July 2, 2017

      Hi Jasna. You’ve been quiet, are things ok with you? I read Patagonia was in a major drought. Is that right? These days I’m never sure about the news I read.

  3. Lilly pickles
    July 2, 2017

    After reading your posts, I have decided that there is just no such thing as being to frugal. The rain just keeps coming down and making it difficult to get much of anything done much less drying laundry out. So, I thought to myself, what would Anita do ? My conclusion was to make the most of it. The kids washed the car in the rain and had fun. I put my 4 dirty trash cans out on the porch to fill up with rain water. After a week, they are freshly scrubbed and clean. Bad kitty whizzed on my good comforter. I hung it out on the clothes line and let it get rained on for a week. I then placed it in a bathtub full of water from a previous shower. I dumped in a gallon of Apple cider vinegar to neutralize the urine smell. I gathered up some odd coins and will take it to the laundry mat to wash as it is to heavy to put in my washer. I may have lost my mind but my water bill will not be higher next month. When my son questioned me about all of this, I told him Anita said it was ok. You are my inspiration.

    • Anita
      July 2, 2017

      Lilly, I love it! That’s being frugal from the heart. Thank you so much for sharing. I enjoy reading the frugal things other people do. I’m quite sure someone, now or later, will read your comment and become inspired too.

  4. jestjack
    June 28, 2017

    Thank you for the timely blog. Water rates around here continue to go up 10-20%t a clip per anum with no concern for the folks paying the bill. The FUNNY thing is the last time a rate increase was requested one of the major reasons for the need was because people were using less water because of the last rate increase….so they collected less $….so now they said they needed to raise the rates. It would be funny if it wasn’t so sad. Our rates are set up so that the more you use the cheaper it gets per gallon. My thought is IF the county was really serious about conservation the rates would reflect it costing MORE per gallon when you use more water and CHEAP rates for low usage ….rewarding conservation….

    • Anita
      June 28, 2017

      Yes, it is very sad. It does appear that the USA is the only country on the planet that punishes people for conserving resources. No wonder many people think we are all greedy pigs. Other countries have government programs that actually help people be more conservative. Australia is one of the best countries I’ve read about at offering free conservation items and incentives. People there are encouraged to have really large rain water catching and storage containers to catch every drop possible. China and India have nice government assistance programs too. I can’t remember which country but one place (either city or country) requires ALL roof gutters be draining into underground holding tanks instead of into sewers. It was a crime to let rain water go into the sewer from any roof.

      • jestjack
        June 28, 2017

        And in some parts of this Country (Colorado?) it is illegal and considered a crime to collect and store rain water….I share the view of others that conservation efforts don’t always show up on the bill. Making me wonder about the accuracy of the water meters….

  5. Erica
    June 27, 2017

    I went to Japan as an exchange student many years ago and saw a fantastic water saving toilet while I was there. The toilet had a hand wash basin incorporated into the top of the cistern, and instead of the cistern filling automatically from a water pipe the water pipe was diverted to run out of a tap over the cistern-top basin and then into the cistern. When you flushed the toilet the tap ran clean water over the basin, you could wash your hands in this, and the resulting grey/ hand wash water drained into the cistern ready for the next flush, so the toilet was always being flushed with grey water. Sorry, this is a convoluted description of a very simple design! The only downside was that the basins were quite small. But for the savings I’m sure they would take no time to get used too! Good luck with your continued water saving, I’ll be looking around the house to see what we can do too!

    • Anita
      June 28, 2017

      Thank you Erica, I’ve seen a couple of those toilet sink combos and I love them. I wanted to buy one but the cost is too much for my budget. The payback time is quite long for a senior but much quicker for a large family. I’ve thought about giving one to my daughter as a combination birthday and Christmas gift. With 8 or more kids in the house it would be a real water saver for her.

  6. Lilly pickles
    June 26, 2017

    I just love my real and imaginary struggles. Not only is the bathroom mirror covered up but I bathe in the dark. I look in the mirror and just do not recognize the person staring back at me. An alien has invaded my body. It really is very sad. I wished someone had warned me about all of these old lady surprises. I have given a lot of thought to the water issue. This is the one thing that feels so out of control in my budget. I have cut back on usage but the fees are something I cannot eliminate. I already am washing out of a bowl. I don’t flush the toilet unless it is brown. I have decided to save my once a week shower water and flush the toilet with it. I don’t have small children or pets, so I see no danger in having a bathtub full of water. I worry about the long term increases in our bill. It is already a 100 a month. If I didn’t have a special needs adult in the house, I would probably shut it off. I could buy 10.00 worth of water a month to live off of and use my rain barrels. Drastic but doable. Meanwhile hospital bills are coming in. I can’t wait to see what they total. I see a bankruptcy in my very near future. Starting over may be what we need. I can’t lose my house as it is in a trust and there is no way out. I particularly love those 300.00. Advils…….

    • Anita
      June 27, 2017

      I’m not quite as bad as an alien, the person I see staring back at me…. OMG, I became my mother! I admit I’ve got the water saving bug pretty bad. I dropped an ice cube on the floor and instead of putting it in the sink to melt I quickly dropped it into the grey water bucket. I was rinsing out the baby’s bottle today but instead of using the tap I used water from the rescue bucket then that water went to the grey bucket. IF I could find the main water shut off valve I’d probably use it at least a couple times a week.

      I haven’t heard anything about my hospital bills yet. They must bill medicare first. It usually takes a couple months to get a bill from the doctor so I imagine the hospital is the same.

  7. T
    June 26, 2017

    I looked up the Michigan study, wow, that’s a scary thought. The two professors say the US crumbling infrastructure wastes a tremendous amount of clean water through burst pipes etc. also some areas the aquifers are simply running out.

    Here millions of gallons of clean water are used to irrigate lawns and gardens, an endless task in 100 degree heat, just to keep lawns looking green. I don’t know of any local initiative to try and conserve water or plant gardens which can withstand drought.

    I can see a scenario like the DustBowl, but as with that disaster until it happens people will pretend everything is okay. It should be what government is for- planning and regulating such things but unless there’s a fast buck in it for someone they don’t do they…

    I heard the president’s recent comments about we need rich people in charge, and I disagree, we need intelligent people in charge who can steer us through difficult times and understand the lives of the majority of Americans. How rich is rich enough? and when does it become simply greed or corruption? We’ve seen what happens when businesses are allowed to exploit human vulnerabilities with healthcare- it’s now a runaway train of ever-escalating profiteering with millions of Americans unable to afford a doctor.

    I can’t imagine not being able to drink water and bathe without being extorted too- but looks like that’s where we’re headed.

    • Anita
      June 27, 2017

      Yes, it was a scary thought. I originally just wanted to lower my water bill but the more I read about water shortages world wide the worse I felt about wasting water. And the reason I’m so determined to do my part. There have been several dust storms in the Southwest for a few years. The latest happened on June 20th along I-10 near the Arizona border. I’ve seen reports of them in other countries too.

      Yes, I heard the Trump say that too. I guess he doesn’t realize poor people are much smarter and wiser at managing money than any billionaire cause we HAVE to be. What good will all that money do for them when the water runs out and the massive food farms can’t operate? I’d much rather be a poor person with basic survival skills any day. I believe learning how to get water from air would be a good thing to learn.

      • T
        July 13, 2017

        i had a bit of an epiphany this week after meeting with yet another friend who spends a fortune on ‘western’ medicine yet is ‘stuck’ in illness mode. I can’t afford to follow doctor advice in America and interestingly my body is gradually healing itself- I believe in part from horrendous stress from abuse, in part from previous prescribed drugs which caused depression, massive weight gain and joint pain. All the excess weight is gone now.

        But there is no profit to be made from allowing a person to recover naturally, my doctor did not even advise me to lose weight or give up carbohydrates to manage my diabetes, the opposite in fact- she said it was just my age and changing my diet would make no difference.

        She was always trying to suggest I might get renal failure ( not surprising since the drugs she was prescribing all cause it ) and I was not at all surprised when her clinic opened a ‘dialysis spa’. They have opened up all over town.

        For-profit medicine is not just a ship of fools, its a house of horrors…

        I do drink a LOT of water, and not having access to unlimited clean drinking water would set my health back i am sure.

        • Anita
          July 13, 2017

          So true, there is no profit in healthy. Of any kind. I’m so glad you are educating yourself.

          I’m not sure if the doctors are just being poorly educated or if they realize the profit to be made. As far as I know, student doctors are taught all about medicines but not about healthy eating. In the words of Hippocrates…. Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food. Hmm… do you think he also said, drink at least eight glasses of water everyday no matter how much liquid you take in with other foods? Who came up with that amount anyway? 😉 Sometimes my thoughts go way too deep.

          • T
            July 14, 2017

            I think it’s a lot about listening to what your own body is telling you, people don’t know when they are hungry or thirsty any more. Despite all the information being out there about nutrition and calories and a huge number of so called low-calorie alternatives there’s an obesity epidemic. And whilst I love the taste and I know it’s mostly composed of water- I could drink a 2 liter diet cherry cola and not satiate my thirst.

            But so far as the medical training goes the doctors seem to be taught everyone needs cholesterol, blood pressure and diabetes meds at my age, also PPI antacids…even at the cheapest prices that is $100 a month in drugs plus tests, plus however often your doctor insists on consultation for refills. My last doctor insisted on monthly consultations and each time was more grandiose in searching for illness. I dropped her when she recommended some tests and I said no, then whilst doing my A1c testing they drew blood and ran the tests I had said no to anyway. That should be illegal, but at any rate it is disrespectful and dishonest. I was very angry and dropped her right then, but she still sent me a letter advising me to seek urgent medical treatment! I know I probably ran into a more greedy and unscrupulous doctor than most but it was a salutary lesson in not taking the word of an ‘expert’ over my own gut feeling. And 18 months later here I still am, still not dead or even dying, thank you very much : )

            • Anita
              July 15, 2017

              You are right about drinking cola and not quenching thirst. Cola actually will make you more thirsty. I’ve said for a long time that anyone over 50 is diagnosed as diabetic then put on the same meds. I searched and went through several doctors before I found my current one and took control of my own health.

              • jestjack
                July 15, 2017

                It’s very sad. My DW was diagnosed with diabetes and they put her on a bunch of meds…expensive meds…But metformin makes her sick….like throwing up sick… and it’s the cheapest! She switched Docs and the NEW Doc says she wants her to try new drug BUT keep the old ones. The new drug Trulicity is an injection and the Doc was singing it’s praises. We researched it and it’s right around $7-800 A MONTH. In addition, the side effects are scary and some studies have shown it CAN cause pancreatic and thyroid cancer!….NO THANKS! I think we are gonna try berberine, an herb, which appears to be a type of metformin without the nasty side effects. It goes for right around 10 cents a tablet…..an is available at some pharmacies, vitamin shops and on line. It appears more than ever we have to be vigilant….

                • Anita
                  July 15, 2017

                  Have you read my series of posts about how I got my A1C levels down to 6.2 from 11.9? 11.10? I can’t remember the exact high number. I did this in one year. You might also try what was used long before metformin was invented. Don’t stop the medication but use Apple Cider Vinegar. 1 tablespoon vinegar, 1 tablespoon real sugar, and 8 ounces of water once or twice a day. There is something in the vinegar that lowers blood sugar and the real sugar makes it drinkable. You must add the water or it could cause throat sores from the acid in the vinegar. This helps curb the sugar craving by offering your body something real instead of fake. My doctor thinks the vinegar helps and is ok to use in addition to any meds. Check the warnings though. Use the ACV with the mother in it. I buy it at Kroger or Meijer stores.

                  I must tell you that I am not a medical professional nor am I dietitian. I simply told what I did which was to get away from ANYTHING with artificial sugar. I started eating real food. Just think of this, if its made in a lab it will take a lab to digest it. If you go to the bottom of my home page where the categories are listed click on the “Frugal Diabetic” to find them. Hmm… maybe I should read them again myself as a refresher.

              • T
                July 15, 2017

                I read this years ago http://www.watercure.com/ and did not take it so seriously then when I was younger, but now I think it’s accurate: we have responded to endless false marketing to introduce things to our bodies which need not be there to say the least.

                • Anita
                  July 15, 2017

                  So true! Since WW2 the food has become less real food and more chemical products to taste like food. We are no longer eating food, now we are eating food like products.

                  I do have to be careful about how much liquids I drink a day. Too much can also cause problems. Some deaths have been a result of too much water too often thinning the blood too much. I also retain water which is not good for me either. I don’t know who came up with drinking a half gallon of water a day. Could it be more marketing influence? In my own personal opinion a half gallon of plain water every day in addition to other liquid in food is too much. I count the liquid in ALL my foods. Soups, coffee, tea, fruit, milk in cereal, etc. I listen to my body. When my skin feels itchy I need more liquid. When my ankles swell I need less liquid. Most of the time I get about a quart of liquids a day and my body is happy.

  8. Donna
    June 26, 2017

    Our water bill always goes up in the summer too. Since we can’t read the meter, we have no way of tracking. I think the city “assumes” we will use more and figures we won’t complain (watering grass, filling swimming pools, washing cars, etc.) Our sewage is also linked to the water so one goes up and so does the other.

  9. Jane
    June 26, 2017

    Good one!

    I have a well and a composting toilet so I try not to use too much water, but financially it doesn’t matter. For the environment it does, though, so I’m still careful. I have a rain barrel and buckets that collect lovely soft water for making my soaps.

  10. Kathi
    June 26, 2017

    Anita, your water saving techniques are AMAZING!! (although even I will pass on the wrapping up the poo and trashing it). But yes, CONSERVING WATER should be number one for all of us. I have heard it said many times that the next “great war” will be over CLEAN WATER. Heck, here in Flint, I am surprised we have not hit the “riot” stage yet. (seems to have been close to that a few times now.) Alas, we here still can’t drink our water from the tap without a filter. Still lead. And yes, as the shut offs continue for non payment the rates go up for those who do pay. Vicious cycle. We now use a lot of “free” bottled water. a LOT. I find it most difficult to understand how our actual water “bill” has not gone down considering that. STILL VERY FRUSTRATED here. LOVE your ideas. Going to see how many I can put into use.

    • Anita
      June 27, 2017

      I thought you’d like them. 😉 I think of you everytime I dip water from the rescued water bucket. I think of you opening water bottles to do everyday cooking etc. Where does the “free” water come from? I have no experience with water filters. Does it work for washing dishes, bathing, etc? Of course, the bill goes up so the CEOs continue to make a profit despite the less use.

      • Kathi
        June 27, 2017

        the “free” bottled water comes from, “water resource pickup sites”. the state, and perhaps still some federal money, has about 4 locations across the city where you can pick up bottled water. My daughter stops by there on occasion for us. Also, David’s doctor is an elder at our church. He and his wife drop off a couple cases every couple weeks. I REFUSE to put one of those “filter things” on my NEW faucet in the kitchen. took YEARS to have something pretty in there. I have a “zero water” company “tank”. It’s a huge water pitcher I keep in the fridge. this also is just for drinking, making coffee, etc. dishes, bathing, laundry, is all done with “regular water”. They say it is now within “federal lead standards” at the water source. BUT we still have to use the filters and NOT drink it out of our taps as there are still a LOT of lead pipes in the system. that lead is still leaching out into the water. they say MAYBE come 2019 we MIGHT be able to use the water like “regular people”. A judge ordered the city to REDUCE our water charges. Of course the city is fighting that so no change, yet. I am hopeful. also. David, “forgets” and will run water, and RUN water. UGHHH. but, so far, we are surviving.

  11. Jill
    June 26, 2017

    You are really doing great and have encouraged me to have a rethink of my usage as well.
    A few years back our water board put out an emergency call for the city to cut back on water usage.. oh the drama we were treated to, the hysteria, doom and gloom, the system is not sustainable..we will be water-less etc etc.
    Surprisingly the city got behind the initiative and actually reduced usage city wide by 40%!!

    The very next quarter they raised the rates by……40%!!!! mind you this was on top of the two 15% increases in the previous 2 years.
    Seems they allegedly couldn’t make enough money now to sustain the system!!
    There was no talk of cutting salaries, reducing the enormous water board bureaucracy or eliminate senior management positions to save money…

    • Anita
      June 27, 2017

      Thanks Jill, I was hoping to encourage some to rethink their water use. I sure hope that doesn’t happen here. 70 percent would be a lot to absorb into a fixed income budget.

    • Kathi
      June 27, 2017

      Yes, that is what happens often. Our water comes from the Detroit system. Several years ago, they had MAJOR water shut offs in Detroit. non payment of bills. LESS people paying for the water, system not sustainable. Rates raised ALL AROUND. Flint then passes the raised rates on to us. Now we are using a LOT less. MANY legal battles going on in Flint over the water, and that it is just WRONG to shut off peoples water now. A judge says, LOWER THOSE RATES and NO MORE SHUT OFFS. The city says, WE CAN’T sustain the cost of the water system, need a rate increase. so? Yes, I know. eventually the rate will go up again, if they ever “fix” the water. Until then, we keep trying to use LESS. much of it because we have to. (takes 3 bottles of water to just make coffee every day, etc) I just do NOT understand HOW our bill has only decreased TWENTY BUCKS a month with all this GREATLY REDUCED water useage. hmm. SORRY. but like Anita said, COST OF WATER has been my HUGE GRIPE for DECADES now.

  12. n_lotzer@hotmail.com
    June 25, 2017

    I love your sense of humor!! Thanks for the insights on our daily water usage options.

    • Anita
      June 26, 2017

      You are welcome. A little sense of humor is like the Mary Poppins’s spoonful of sugar. It makes the unpleasant things in life a little easier to take. 😉

  13. Linda S
    June 25, 2017

    OMG, Anita, you had me laughing out loud. Sounds like you’re on a roll. Does your water company automatically raise your rates in the summer? I live in a high desert so even in a high water year (we had LOTS of snow) our water bills double at least. So no matter how little we try to use it still costs an arm & leg. My mother grew up on a farm where they drew water from a well & heated it on the wood stove. Many years later she was still a believer in sponge baths but she called them “spit-baths”. Lol

    • Anita
      June 26, 2017

      No that hasn’t happened here yet. Shh! I sure hope they don’t hear about it either cause they might start. I’m curious. How do you prepare for the doubled bill? Do you save money for it or just reshuffle your budget every spring and fall?

Please leave a message after the beep........{BEEP}

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 191 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 221,572 Hits
