Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Electronic devices are making our young STUPID

I have noticed for a few years that the young generation is not being taught to think for themselves.  The electronic devices do all the thinking for them so they can’t develop any common sense.  I see it over and over again.   Let me tell you what happened this time.

I plan to repair my rug weaving frame.  I haven’t used it in over a year because a couple of boards had warped and need replacing.  I went to the Lowe’s hardware store, found where the boards I needed were located, and pushed the call button to get a store clerk to cut them for me.  The boards were six feet long.  I told the young guy I needed 6 two feet pieces.  I told him that while he cut the pieces I would go into the next isle to get a couple of bolts and come right back.  When I returned the guy had picked up a whole bundle of six boards all neatly strapped together and cut a two foot length off all six.  He handed those to me with the price sticker on each one.  He asked me if I wanted the other parts or should he put them in the odd cuts box.  DUH!

Now really, I know sometimes I have senior lapses of memory but what he had done just took the cake. Why on earth would he cut six boards instead of simply picking up two six foot boards and cut them into three pieces?  (3 times 2 equals 6) The way he had cut them meant I had to pay for all 6 of the boards instead of only two. which I pointed out to him.  He honestly didn’t understand what I was talking about. Ok, I let that go and decided to take the whole bundle but told him to cut the remaining parts into six three foot pieces and six one foot pieces.  (3 plus 1 equals 4)  I figured I could use the extra pieces for other size rugs.   So the kid tells me that he can’t get two three foot pieces from the boards.  He goes to pick up another bundle of boards to cut.  STOP!!!

I don’t want to pay for more boards!  I decided to dumb down my request to what a first grade school student might understand.  I said please just cut a one foot piece off each remaining board and that will be ok for me.  DUH!  Why is it that he didn’t know 4 minus 3 is 1?  Why is it he couldn’t simply figure out that a four foot piece of wood could be cut into one three foot piece and a one foot piece?  What are we doing to our young people?

The bundle of wood was about 3 X 3 1/2 inches thick and six foot long.  How did he measure and mark the lengths?  By balancing the bundle on top of a 4 inch round safety pole  standing in front of the saw.  It looked like a tight rope walker balance pole rocking back and forth as he tried to use the tape measure.  DUH! Surely a person would know its easier to keep the board steady if you lay it on the floor instead of balancing it on a small pole?  I pointed this out to him.  He says; “Oh yeah.  But this is ok too.”  He makes a mark on one of the boards, not all six, then puts the bundle in the saw and cuts.

Something didn’t look right so I used the tape measure to check myself.  Every piece was off by a quarter inch or a half inch.  Some too long.  Some too short.  The mark he had made didn’t make a bit of difference.  The marks were still on the boards, uncut. DUH!  Why make a mark if you aren’t going to use it?  I pointed out that his cutting was off.  That every board has a different measurement.  He says he’ll cut them again for me and goes to get another bundle of boards.  STOP!  I don’t want another bundle!  I’ll take the ones I have.  Just put them in the cart please.

Yes, yes, I know I should have had him cut the boards over again under my supervision but he would not improve his skills by cutting more boards.  I didn’t have time to stand there to hand hold him through how to measure and cut accurately.  I couldn’t teach him basic math in a few minutes time either.  I had a ride waiting for me outside in the heat.

When I get to the register the clerk picks up the board pieces with a upc tag, counts all 24 pieces of wood, and scans the upc 24 times.  STOP!  Good gosh will this stupidity never end?  I tell the clerk I’m buying only SIX boards that have been cut into pieces.  Not twenty four.  The cutting is free.  She has a blank stare and says oh.  I asked her to void 18 of those boards.  She again stares at me but with a look of skepticism, as if I’m trying to pull a fast one on her, and tells me I’ll have to go to the service desk for a refund.  DUH!  I tell her I haven’t paid for them yet so just void 18 for a new total.  She says she can’t, I’ll have to go to the service desk.  I put some authority base in my voice and told her;  Call the manager! Now!  She quickly voids 18 and I pay for the six boards.  Geeze!  I’m glad I was using cash instead of a card or there would have been a whole other set of issues.

As I said, I do have some senior moments with lapses of memory and often use a calculator for accuracy but this whole shopping incident had me wondering what is our country coming to?  Electronic devices are making the young generation so stupid.  Really stupid!  We’ve taken away their ability to think and use logic.  Heck, without an electronic device to do the thinking the young can’t seem to function.  We now furnish them with more electronic brains daily and less opportunity to think or reason things out for themselves.  Even infants these days have electronic toys to cut teeth on.

My personal opinion is that we would never survive if the electric grid was hit by an EMP or major sunburst and none of the electric devices worked anymore.  The young would likely cease to function too.

If you are interested in what the rug frame looks like I wrote a post about it back in 2009.  You can find it with this link to that original post.  Anita’s homemade rug frame.

19 comments on “Electronic devices are making our young STUPID

  1. T
    July 19, 2017

    I REFUSE to pay more because the employee is stupid, but it comes up often…

    I think a lot of this nonsense is deliberate though.

    • Anita
      July 20, 2017

      You are probably right.

      • T
        July 20, 2017

        Honestly Anita I see grown men and women messing about on electronic devices like toys…pathetic.

  2. Lilly pickles
    July 17, 2017

    At least in my old age I have gotten better and try to practice kindness and patience..This is something I have not always done. Working in construction, the smallest mistakes could cost thousands of dollars. I remember the time the head engineer eye balled some concrete and it cost him eight thousand. Meanwhile I count my change every time. Recently gave a man a 50 and I got change back for a 5. No child left behind lowered the standards and children are dumbed down to save the jobs.

  3. sarasinart
    July 17, 2017

    Ridiculous. They need everything spelled out and can’t think for themselves. These folks will run our world soon. 😳

  4. Donna
    July 17, 2017

    It is so amazing to me that people can’t count. Especially young teenagers giving change. Without the cash register to tell them how much change is due they have no idea. And they NEVER count it back but plunk it in your hand. I think we are doomed. My grand daughter works in a KFC and the clerks can’t read cursive! She has to PRINT the customers name so they can read it when the order is ready.

    • Anita
      July 17, 2017

      It is sad that cursive writing is no longer taught in schools. Its been replace by learning where the letters are on a keypad. I’ve been teaching cursive to Ladybug. She thinks its cool. Some kids don’t know what actual money is. They only know about plastic cards to buy things.

      • T
        July 22, 2017

        It’s the same in music Anita, before electronic instruments and photocopiers we were all taught to read music then had to memorize it! Makes for a different set of skills to think and apply to real life, not just answer a multiple choice online questionnaire.

        • Anita
          July 23, 2017

          That’s true. Memorizing is almost a forgotten skill these days. I never learned to play an instrument but Grandma Mama had me memorize recipe ingredients and other things like that.

  5. Leslie Saunders
    July 16, 2017

    Years ago when I was earning and spending money carelessly, I stopped at a Mrs. Fields cookie stand in the mall, and asked forn8oz. Of chocolate chip cookies. The clerk replied, “I’m sorry mam, we only sell cookies by the pound and half pound.” After asking again, I got the same reply. So I went with the half pound. Yikes!

    • Anita
      July 17, 2017

      Hee, hee, that’s a good one. And so typical of what the kids are learning.

  6. Michelle
    July 16, 2017

    All I can say is….WOW!

  7. Margie in Toronto
    July 16, 2017

    I want to say “Unbelievable” but unfortunately I’ve run into the same sort of thing and honestly – I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. But I’m in agreement with others – I would have asked for a supervisor right away and let him or her deal with it – even though you had someone waiting it would have probably been quicker in the long run.
    I used to astound people in my office because I never used a calculator – I know how to add, subtract, multiply, divide – and how to move a decimal point for percentages! When I mentioned to someone that I did all my taxes myself and by hand there was a look of horror on their faces – they couldn’t believe that I was coming up with the correct answers without using a calculator and that I could often do it a lot faster than them! Should I mention that I worked for a bank……

    • Anita
      July 16, 2017

      There is never a manager around when you need them. I probably should have but I wasn’t thinking straight myself. With my luck that day the manager might have been just as clueless. The manager was most likely the one who trained that guy. Our older generation had to learn math because there wasn’t any electric brains to do it for us. Some are much better at it than others. Looks like you were one of them. I can just picture you and those surprised faces.

  8. Jane
    July 16, 2017

    All I can say is “WOW!”

  9. Sandy
    July 16, 2017

    Amazing. This would be funny if it wasn’t so sad.

    • Anita
      July 16, 2017

      Yes, sometimes the things they say or do is funny. Just like some of the funny things I do myself when I have those senior moments. I laugh at myself alot these days.

  10. KAYTHEGARDENER
    July 16, 2017

    Dear Na-Na,
    You had more k patience than me. After the first mess, I would have called the manager to supervise the cutting by the employee. Let him find out for himself where his employee needs “coaching”…

    • Anita
      July 16, 2017

      You are right I should have done that but being in a hurry I wasn’t thinking. I was almost as bad as him. My mind was mostly on the person waiting in a hot car for me to get finished.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 253,149 Hits
