Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Quilting and yard updates

Before I continue with this post let me say — HAPPY JUNETEENTH! Its now officially a federal holiday after so many years and so many people campaigning for it. I’m happy to have lived to see this day.

I went to the monthly foodbank today. I didn’t go last month because I didn’t feel well that day. I was a little late getting there so the sweets were already gone which was perfectly ok with me. I usually tell them to keep the sweets. I want the fresh fruit and vegetables because I can’t afford to buy them from the store. This is what I got. A few carrots, 4 onions, several white potatoes, a couple sweet potatoes, and 3 apples. I believe I’ll have roast vegetables for dinner. I do have a green bell pepper and a stalk of celery in the fridge I could add. Maybe I’ll make a carrot cake too. Or maybe not. My house gets really hot in the late afternoon. One small window air conditioner with a couple fans can’t compete with an oven. I’ll wait for morning when its cooler.

I haven’t seen fresh fruit, except for apples, from the foodbank for a few months. The senior farm market coupons still aren’t being given out yet this year even though farm markets have been open a couple months. I’m still considering whether I should take the chance to go inside stores to look for discount items again. There are still a bunch of covidiots roaming around. Also many more people searching the discount bins because of rising food prices. I may not find much.

My neighbor gave me 3 small packs of frozen veggies a couple days ago when she cleaned out her freezer. I used one and made a crockpot of vegetable beef soup with a one pound pack of beef chunks I got in a food box back in January. It tasted so good and made enough for lunch and dinner two days. My crockpot is 1.5 quarts. Just right for one or two people.

I’m still unpacking boxes and getting organized to start quilting again. Its impossible for me to spend hours moving things around because of my health issues and my age. I work awhile and take a nap to recover. I’m ashamed of how really messy and dirty my house has become over the past year and a half. Thank goodness for Ladybug who has been a tremendous help. The kitchen shelves are still not installed. I really should try again to get those eight screws into the wall and start using those shelves.

I had a person to person talk with the negotiator about the work to be done in my back yard. Actually all of us have had our talk. To be honest I didn’t know what to expect but he’s a very pleasant person to talk with. He’s not at all the big bad wolf as suggested by one neighbor. That same neighbor who was on my case to cut the grass while the moving truck was still being unloaded the day I moved here. I’m not worried. I trust him to do the right thing.

The negotiator is really interested in my quilt work. All men who see the quilting machine for the first time are fascinated with it. So was he. I hope he’ll bring his wife with him to see my little studio. After I get it cleaned up of course. Ladybug will be back next week and we can do more cleaning. I want to unbox my Christmas gift to see if it works. I got a floor cleaning machine that’s never been opened.

I do have a quilt on the machine and its stabilized.

I started doing a few sketches of designs to stitch on it. Coming up with unique things to stitch on a quilt is part of the fun of being a quilter. I was thinking the flower on the left would look good on the nine patch squares.

I’ve also been making a few small sketches for art quilts I want to make. I’ll talk about those in another post. I need to reopen my quilting blog but I’m still not sure it would be safe from the hackers. I’m also working out the details in my mind on how to show photos of quilts I make without loosing my original ideas to someone else.

Stay safe everyone and hugs from Kentucky

5 comments on “Quilting and yard updates

  1. Silver
    June 19, 2021

    Happy Juneteenth, Anita ^_^
    I’m glad the negotiator seems like a decent person. Fingers crossed the work will go ahead without any hiccups.

    Like

  2. captnmike
    June 19, 2021

    Very nice looking quilt – much more elaborate than what I did several years back – good job

    Aluminum foil shiny side out helps to cut down on heat gain

    Good luck

    Like

    • Anita
      June 19, 2021

      Thanks. And yes, I did put some foil on the windows that do get sunshine. Keeping heat generating appliances off helps too.

      Like

  3. Jane
    June 18, 2021

    Glad to see you posting today! Your soup looks wonderful…and the QUILT!! Oh my…what a beauty!

    Glad the yard person was easy to talk to. I am sure you will be glad when that project is over!

    Like

    • Anita
      June 19, 2021

      I’m actually planning a garden spot for next year now that I know that big tree will be gone and I’ll get some sunshine. The good neighbor said she and her husband would do the work if I’d share the food with them.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2021 by in $10 a week food budget, COOKING FOR ONE OR TWO, DOWNSIZING MY LIFE, FOOD BANK LIFE and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 348 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 883,680 Hits