Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Egg shortage

Do you know why there is a shortage of eggs in stores? Do you know why the prices of eggs are so expensive? No? Well I’ll explain it for you.

Apparently all the egg laying hens around the world got together and formed their own union. And now those same hens are on strike. Only minimum egg laying will be done until the strike is settled.

Following in the foot steps of the egg laying hens all the milk producing animals have formed a union of their own. You’ve probably seen the results of the milk, butter, and cheese strike in the works too.

Just thought you should know. 😉

10 comments on “Egg shortage

  1. Linda
    January 14, 2023

    😂

    Like

  2. Essie Oh
    January 14, 2023

    Guess it’s time to go whole foods plant based!

    Like

    • Anita
      January 14, 2023

      Yes, I think I started that when I finally got false teeth and became addicted to crunchy vegetables. I can’t seem to get enough of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Just another day on the farm
    January 14, 2023

    haha, I came to see what you thought and you did give me a chuckle this morning. I am beyond grateful for my own small flock of hens, planning even more fodder growing this coming garden season to try and help with the feed costs.

    Like

    • Anita
      January 14, 2023

      I’m not sure the construction across my back yard will be finished by spring so I’m not making any extra plans. Maybe the neighbors would be willing to donate food scraps to help feed your chickens. My daughter was talking about getting back yard chickens and asking for produce cutting scraps from a local grocery to feed hers. So far all she’s doing is thinking it over.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Linda in NE
    January 14, 2023

    Good story. We can all use a little humor in this crazy world. I wonder if some apple cider vinegar in the chickens’ water would help keep them healthy. Seems to me I read it in the old Countryside magazine or on a helpful prepper blog that used to be online. The blog may still exist but it’s different now. The wrong type of actors joined and all the older members that were so good with information got frustrated & left. Can’t blame them, I stopped reading it too.

    Like

    • Anita
      January 14, 2023

      I’ve heard about using ACV for chicken health too. I believe I read it in Mother Earth News many years ago in the 1970s.

      Like

  5. Selena
    January 13, 2023

    LOL.. no less believable than some news outlets make up.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gayle
    January 13, 2023

    Anita, I love your explanation! I have about 60 hens and half of them are ready to molt, but am hoping they hang in there a bit longer, as I’m going to hate to tell my egg customers that I may not be able to supply them as readily as I’ve been doing. I live in Eastern Tennessee and although egg prices in the stores have been skyrocketing, I’ve kept my price at $3.00 per dozen. While the cost of feed has certainly risen, I hate to raise the cost, as all of my customers are either retired and on a fixed income or just starting out, with a baby or two. We’ll make due. I already don’t use the “good” eggs for us, but keep the cracked ones or ones with thinner shells and use those, except when I want to boil or steam them,then I use the “good” ones. All of that said, even though eggs in the stores are getting pricey, the egg is still a pretty cheap whole protein compared to some others. Take care!!

    Like

    • Anita
      January 14, 2023

      I agree, eggs are a good source of protein. I admire you for keeping your prices reasonable in spite of all that’s going on with the bird flu. Corporate greed can’t hold a candle to the truly caring small farmers like you.

      Like

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2023 by in HUMOR.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 348 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 883,723 Hits