Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Freezing

A quick note that I’m staying in my survival room until I can get some heat into my house. It’s 29 degrees in my house right now. I can’t cook, I can’t clean, and I’m barely able to sit to type this because where the computer sits is COLD. I’ve heard nothing but excuses for the last three and a half months and I won’t stand for it any longer! So this morning I started making phone calls higher up the chain of command. If that doesn’t work I’ll be calling one of the tv stations for help. Other than that I’m ok staying in my survival room. I’ll answer comments and emails when I have heat.

Hugs and keep warm out there,

Anita

7 comments on “Freezing

  1. catherine young
    December 2, 2023

    Any headway? It’s not that cold here but even low 40s is rough. Please keep us apprised

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Essie Oh
    December 1, 2023

    Oh my goodness, Anita! I sure hope that you’ve been able to rectify the lack of heat by now! Looking forward to an update that tells us you are now in a heated house.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. craftytadpole
    November 28, 2023

    Oh my goodness! Stay warm, or as warm as you can. Hope this situation improves very quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kaythegardener
    November 28, 2023

    Praying for you, NaNa!! Hugs from Pacific NW!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. catherine young
    November 27, 2023

    Anita, I am ever so sorry you are in this situation.  We’ve been blessed where I live with milder than usual fall weather, but even high 30’s is too cold 24/7.  About 7-8 years ago, we had a record cold spell in December, with me in this big old drafty house with no heat and a limited electric system that could handle limited use of space heaters.  I saved them for the bathroom and kitchen. 

    I’m glad you have a survival room. That’s where I lived those weeks in that house.  My survival room was the large bathroom. I moved a cot and bedding in there, set up a card table annd chair,  and kept myself bundled up when I left that room.  Had a hot water pot so I could live on broths and tea. Also a teeny fridge for immediate access food. No leftovers. 

    It was a disgrace that happened to me, a senior citizen as it is that it’s happening to you. Yes, call, call, complain, have your kids and friends call and complain too. This truly is no country for old folks.  Our medical doesn’t cover our eye, teeth and ears.  The most basic provisions like heat in freezing weather out of reach. 

    I’m hoping you get help soon.  

    Catherine Young 

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      December 2, 2023

      Thank you Catherine, I remember that really cold of a few years ago too. Your comment reminded me that I’ve lived without a furnace before and did just fine. My daughter is also without a furnace as her’s died a couple weeks ago. We’ve been talking about the times when she was still at home that we had to make do without power even during the coldness of winter and the heat of summer. One year it was so cold we had ice cycles hanging from the ceiling and the whole city was shut down because of record snow. We survived then and we can again. Hugs

      Like

  6. Debby
    November 27, 2023

    I hope you can get your furnace fixed. It is inhumane to let someone suffer in their home in those cold temps.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 27, 2023 by in ENERGY SAVINGS TIPS, HOW MUCH IS ENOUGH, JUST THINKING and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 888,641 Hits