Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

I have heat!

This is the before:

This is the after:

The new furnace is the least energy efficient model which is typical of city repairs. The city contractor kept saying he was going to get me 90% efficient because he wanted me happy. Yeah right. I knew that would never happen because it would cut into his profits. Actually I’m not sure if the new one is sufficient for a two story, four bedroom house. I can only hope someday I’ll have the money to upgrade to an energy efficient model or perhaps mini-splits.

My neighbor told me the brand is a good one. I wouldn’t know because I’ve never bought a furnace before. To me, it’s a cheap alternative for none at all. That’s not a complaint, just an observation. Don’t the people running these programs realize that the people who can least afford to replace a furnace are the very one’s with the most need for energy efficiency? I mean seriously, since it’s being replaced anyway wouldn’t it be better to spend just a little more for something more in the mid-range energy efficient that would help low income people be less dependent on federal energy funds?

Never underestimate the power of complaining when necessary. I rarely actually complain but I was determined another year would NOT go by without having a working furnace. I was also growing tired of the contractor’s excuses to put me off time after time. He’d tell me one thing and do another. The nights when it was so cold I could see my breath inside the house was the last straw.

I made phone calls and more phone calls until I finally got results. A phone call to the alderman for my district got things rolling. That phone call worked when I explained to her I had been waiting since July of 2022 for a furnace under the “emergency repairs” program. I explained the bidding process had been completed back in August and awarded the first week of September of this year. A year and four months is a long time to wait for “emergency” repairs.

As I said, I rarely complain because I prefer to find alternatives for myself. I take pride in knowing I’m not the type person who believes government owes me a life. However, when I actually qualify for a program I take advantage of it by applying. After all that’s what the programs are for. I respect the resulting gifts by using it wisely. Just because it was free doesn’t mean I can keep the house at 90° while I walk around in summer clothes or neglect changing the filter.

The filters for the old furnace costs about $80 each and required a hvac person to change it. The filters were nearly impossible to find so I had asked the guys to make the new one use a smaller filter. I’ll be buying a reusable filter that I can change myself and be cleaned to use again. I’m not sure, I may need to buy two. One to be used while the other dries. That’s something I’ll need to learn about.

When the furnace was finally installed the first thing I thought was I could bake bread again. Without heat the dough would not rise. Right away I made a loaf then ate half of it while still warm.

I hope those in the path of the winter storms are staying safe and warm. I’m going to get busy putting my house back in order.

Anita

22 comments on “I have heat!

  1. whitlerswife
    December 11, 2023

    That furnace looks huge. I don’t think most people in the UK could find room for one. Mine is a small gas combi boiler and fits inside a small wall cupboard in the corner of my kitchen. I only have a small flat but when I lived in a two storey three bedroom house it was the same setup and heated the whole house and gave constant hot water. I am glad you have heating at last. Enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      December 11, 2023

      Yes the furnace is hugh. There are a lot of things on a smaller scale used in other countries I wish were available here. Here in the US most people are of the mindset bigger is better. Bigger houses, bigger trucks, bigger fridges, bigger kitchens, and as a result we have bigger (fatter) people. I’m just the opposite. I search for smaller and more energy efficient.

      Like

  2. Selena
    December 10, 2023

    Crap – first reply did not take. Unless you have new windows/insulation, you won’t reap the benefit of a 90+% furnace. So as long as the one you got kicks out enough BTUs for you square footage, you’re good.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Selena
    December 10, 2023

    And I can tell you that you would not reap the benefits of 90+ efficient furnace. To get the full benefit, your house would have to a) have low-e/new windows, b) proper insulation (attic, walls, wall between house and garage, and possibly c) better duct work “lay out”. My folks got a 90%+ efficient furnace a number of years ago. Dad is likely just now getting the benefit after insulation/window replacements. So don’t get irritated you didn’t get a 90%+ efficient furnace. As long as the BTUs meet your square footage, you should be fine.
    Sad to say too many folks get talked into a 90%+ furnace and they won’t get the full benefit from it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anita
      December 11, 2023

      Thank you Selena. You’re so thoughtful. Actually I’m not irritated I didn’t get a 90 percent furnace. I’m irritated that he kept lying about it. If he hadn’t said 90 percent efficient repeatedly I wouldn’t have gotten my hopes up.

      I’m happy just having heat again. I’m happy that I won’t be paying for over 1,000 watts of electricity each month to run space heaters anymore. Yesterday I looked online at my energy use. The kWh hours dropped from 65 per day the day before the furnace was installed to 3 the day after. I think that’s a victory for me even with only 80 percent efficient.

      I had an energy audit done when I first moved here. Apparently all those things were completed by the previous owner. I’m not sure of the quality though because this house was a rental. Everything was done cheaply. I do like the tilt out to clean double pane windows.

      My biggest heat issue is the stack effect. I’ve been researching ways to prevent it without a lot of expense. Someday I’ll manage to get mini-splits instead of a furnace to control that stack effect and solar panels to run them. Yeah, I’m just dreaming but it’s a nice dream.

      Liked by 1 person

      • tracypacesplace
        December 11, 2023

        ‘I do like the tilt out to clean double pane windows.’

        I remember those in England years ago, was surprised they didn’t become more popular, but there are still window cleaners there!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Anita
          December 11, 2023

          I watch a lot of BBC and public tv movies with people using or doing things in other countries that aren’t used here. Most of the time I’m more focused on the background than I am the actors. I first learned about tiny under counter fridges from watching the Doc Martin series.

          Like

      • Selena
        December 11, 2023

        Doubt what was needed to get the bang-4-your-buck out of a 90+ furnace was done to a rental. You have an attic and if so, someone who could safely see what kind of insulation (if any) is there? And insulating the wall between the garage and house also helps.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Anita
          December 13, 2023

          Selena you’re probably right. Nothing is ever done to improve rental houses. I don’t have an attic or garage. In my house what most people would consider an attic is actually two bedrooms with very short knee walls. A four bedroom house instead of two bedrooms gets higher rent money.

          Like

  4. blissfully in the shadows
    December 10, 2023

    I am happy that you have heat. Also that you have a thirst for knowledge. Hopefully with buying the filters, you will have less issues.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      December 10, 2023

      Things change so fast these days that if we don’t keep learning we become victims of our lack of knowing. It’s how the mega-rich keep the poor as poor. Knowledge is power.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. blissfully in the shadows
    December 10, 2023

    I am very happy for you. It is right to stay up on things so you can have a plan in place.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. texasilver
    December 9, 2023

    How nice you have your new water heater, toilet, furnace, & shower repairs. It was a long process (saving $ often means inconvenience in my experience) but it’s finally done. Your home value likely went up too with the repairs. You can enjoy the holidays w/ heat & hot water!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      December 9, 2023

      Shh, don’t say that about house value. The tax people will want to raise the taxes on it. 😉 Yes, the holidays will be nice and warm. Hope things are ok with you.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Sandy
    December 9, 2023

    So glad to read this post and know that you have heat!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      December 9, 2023

      Thank you Sandy.

      Like

  8. 4paws2love2
    December 9, 2023

    My furnace is under 3 feet high and about 15 inches wide. It heats a 2 story 5 bedroom house just fine, and has been doing so for about 6 years now. Of course I do not have filters, because I have a boiler and cast iron radiators. The efficiency rating is about the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      December 9, 2023

      You’re lucky to have that. As far as I know houses here in the states are doing away with boilers and radiators to switch to furnaces.

      Like

      • Selena
        December 9, 2023

        A lot has to do with finding people to service boilers and radiators as well as parts. How many BTUs does it kick out?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Anita
          December 9, 2023

          I don’t know about the BTUs yet. I can’t find the information in the papers or on the furnace. I’ll ask when the guys return next week to install the air conditioner.

          Like

          • Selena
            December 9, 2023

            Then determine the square footage of your house. Use this website (there are others too) to determine if your furnace kicks out enough BTUs
            https://learnmetrics.com/heating-btu-calculator/

            Like

          • Anita
            December 10, 2023

            Thank you Selena I’ll do that as soon as I get the furnace BTUs. If it isn’t enough I’ll complain again.

            Like

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 887,628 Hits