Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

2024 New Year Goals

I had been sick in bed since last Thursday. I caught something from someone somewhere. I’ve had a fever and slept alot. I was able to make a pot of chicken noodle soup with vegetables as soon as I started to feel the fever. Everything was already cooked in jars or the freezer so all I had to do was open, mix, and heat it. I portioned it into containers to microwave. I knew I had to eat something when taking my meds. I’m feeling better but still a little weak. Today is my birthday and I refuse to spend it in bed. 

This is a drive-through foodbank salad from last month.

If you want to make God laugh, make plans. Instead I set goals. My goal this year is to get my A1C down to 7.5 from 8.9 but not by using any special diet. I know what I did wrong and now I’m starting all over. I’m just going to eat the simple meals I remember from my childhood using backwards or reverse menu planning based on what I get from 1) the drive through foodbanks 2) the monthly senior commodity boxes 3) the grocery discount bins and 4) grocery loss leaders. I’ll go into more details about my eating goals in other posts.

Actually, backwards or reverse menu planning is not a new concept. It’s been done for thousands of years. For our ancestors it was just their way of life without the fancy names. In the days before a convenience store became located on almost every corner and before mega grocery stores were built in almost every neighborhood people couldn’t make quick trips to pick up the missing ingredient for tonight’s dinner recipe. People had to make do with what they already had or do without. 

Families grew, foraged, and preserved whatever they could get for the pantry and larder. The larder was a cool space or room where meat was stored smothered in lard to preserve it. The pantry and larder were filled with as much food as possible to last until the next growing or gathering season. Meals were created from what had been stored away. In other words, people created meals from the pantry foods from season to season. Food was stored, rotated, and eaten based on the seasons of harvest. If you grew a garden you preserved as much as you could in order for it to last until the following year’s harvest. If you gathered tree nuts in the fall you stored enough to last until the next fall. If you foraged mushrooms and wild onions in spring you dried and put away as many as possible until the next spring. You have the idea?

My second, equally important, goal for 2024 is to finally get back to creating quilts again. I had wanted to have the studio cleared enough to use the quilting machine by tomorrow but the illness put me behind schedule. My quilting goal is to make several children’s quilts for homeless kids first and see how it goes.  I also want to make another quilt or two for the fair to do better than last year. As soon as I clear the stuff out of the studio and back where it belongs in the kitchen I’ll do an annual tune-up on the machine. The Staples store where I had all my drawings enlarged into quilt size patterns will be closing the end of this week. I’ll need to locate another print shop that does enlargements. I’m hoping it won’t be on the other side of the county. 

Have a happy and prosperous new year! 

Anita

31 comments on “2024 New Year Goals

  1. wideeyedwanderingspoonie
    January 7, 2024

    We travel a similar path to eating. Hubs is a type 1.5 diabetic (LADA – autoimmune diabetes occurring in adulthood) so we eat a well balanced lowish carb diet. Almost all of our carbs come from low-starch vegetables (sweet potatoes, carrots, beets) it’s a real balancing act with the grocery budget. I set intentions, this year I intend to grow more in my mini garden (aka flower beds around my townhome) I purchased an inexpensive vertical planter to experiment with. My herbs did very well this year and we have enough to last through the winter for seasonings, medicinal teas, flavorful teas and soups. Happy Birthday and may 2024 rain blessings upon you my friend.

    Like

    • Anita
      January 7, 2024

      My tower garden did ok until something started killing it. I suspect the garden soil I bought smothered the roots but it could have been something else. I sure hope it does better this year. May it rain blessings on you too my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda in NE
    January 6, 2024

    Happy Belated Birthday, Anita! Glad to hear you’re getting over whatever bug laid you low. So much stuff going around this time of year and the media tries to scare the heck out of us over every little thing.
    Your picture of the food you got at the traveling food pantry is impressive. My husband volunteers at a couple of them. The twice a month one let everyone know there wouldn’t be any more fresh produce, just the little box of canned and dry items. Bummer! Sure nothing like in the days when Covid money was buying some really great things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      January 6, 2024

      Ooo, no more fresh produce is sad. We get a lot of store produce that’s donated but lately the produce departments have been looking a little thin. With thousands of new mouths to feed everyday there is less available to go around. Reminds me of what I’ve heard about the great depression.

      Like

      • Linda in NE
        January 6, 2024

        A huge number of those extra mouths to feed should be sent back where they came from. They came into this country illegally and should not be allowed to stay, much less supported totally by the taxpayers.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Anita
          January 6, 2024

          I agree that something should be done about illegals at the border but I was also thinking about the thousands of extra mouths in other countries who have / are suffering through floods, earthquakes, droughts, fires, famine, and wars. The US sends an abundance of food to other countries while we have hungry people right here at home. More states should follow the example of California to make food waste illegal.

          Like

  3. K
    January 4, 2024

    Wishing you a very happy birthday. Hope you feel better soon.

  4. Linda Ruth Feldman
    January 3, 2024

    Happy Birthday! Take care and I hope you feel better soon! There seem to be a lot of non-Covid/RSV/flu viruses out there. I have caught one of these as well, so I understand.

    Like

    • Anita
      January 4, 2024

      I’m doing better. Hope you are feeling better too.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Selena
    January 2, 2024

    Another good source for open pollinated seeds is https://seedtreasures.com/
    Hope you’re feeling better.

    Like

    • Anita
      January 4, 2024

      Thanks Selena, They sound interesting. I’ll look at their site.

      Like

  6. catherine young
    January 2, 2024

    Happy New Year to you! In many ways 2023 a great year for me. I’m finally feeling solvent, a lot of credit to your advice.

    As for diet, I watch mine carefully because I have limited access to fresh foods. Mostly commercially canned and packaged with all the preservatives and artificial flavorings.

    I eat very sparingly. I eat to live. I move towards the healthier diets when I can and when the choices are there. If I were in a health condition, I would not be ignoring current diets recommended for it, but would temper it a bit with how I eat. Diabetes, overweight , too high or too low readings on health monitors all should be addressed with some of today’s findings. The mortality rates for things that we can now control were high back in our parents’ and grandparents’ days when the connections were not known. I pretty much eschew those foods now firmly on the “bad” list though I also forage in that territory at times. So far, it has worked for family and me. But I like to enjoy food too so it’s very much a balancing act. My Turkey stuffing this year was quite decadent, and I froze it in single portions to have a bit of it for months for dinner or breakfast. Take care of yourself, Anita. Happy , healthy, joyful, prosperous and peaceful new year!

    Like

    • Anita
      January 4, 2024

      I’m not going to be eating anything Grandma Mama wouldn’t recognize as food. I’ll be eating food from plants and not made in a plant. I’m planning to eat the way I was fed as a child. I’ll be eating anything that grows in a garden, an orchard, or a forest. As a child I was chronic anemic and suffered with rickets. I was fed liver and other organ meats for the iron so that’s what I’ll add to my diet. I know I can find liver at the grocery but I’m not sure where to find the others that I remember.

      Hey, I was planning to put stuffing portions in the freezer too. Good minds think alike. Trouble is, I ate it all before portioning. Hugs

      Like

      • Selena
        January 4, 2024

        If you in my area, there is a locally owned grocery store that likely would carry the other organ meats of your youth. All types of ethnic foods (read fruits, veggies, meats) are available. I’ve seen chicken feet in their meat department.

        Like

        • Anita
          January 6, 2024

          I’ll keep checking for local places. I’m sure we have them but just not sure where they are located with so many places closing.

          Like

  7. Theresa Preston
    January 1, 2024

    Happy belated birthday! Hope you’re feeling well soon! Homemade chicken soup is just what you need.

    What you described is what restaurants are doing using local and in season ingredients! Sounds like you’ve been doing this before it was trendy 😂

    Also, nice score on those nuts! Wow! So cheap! A good granola or granola bars would be great!

    I recent made a turkey for Christmas and made so much turkey stock. I have 32 ounce jars of turkey stock. It’s the best stock I’ve ever made! Lots of soups to give to my family. They’ve been loving the soups!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      January 4, 2024

      Thank you, I’m feeling batter. Grandma Mama had cows and a garden so the food we ate was grown local. 😉 I canned 10 pints of turkey stock. I’ll be using the nuts in various recipes. I keep them in the freezer to last longer.

      Like

  8. tracypacesplace
    January 1, 2024

    I bought 2 bags of nuts in shells from Kroger- one pecan, one Brazils, for $3 total, and whilst they have made an attractive display in a pretty bowl I have yet to fathom how to shell them without making a mess of it! I bought a ‘cracker’ from HEB when I could not figure out how to use a knife and hammer, which I seem to remember we used as a child; maybe English traditional nut varieties are easier to open?! Anyway, even with this cracking tool I’m still reducing the shell and nut to fragments. Any secrets to share, Anita? Or is this why ready-prepared nuts are so expensive : )

    Like

    • Anita
      January 4, 2024

      I haven’t seen brazil nuts in years. You should blanch boil them. Here’s how. Start a pan with enough water to cover the nuts. Wait until the water is boiling then add the nuts. Boil for one minute and remove them to immediately put into very cold water to stop the cooking. Align the nut with the seam getting the brunt of the nutcracker force. They should crack easily and slip right off. I use a mesh strainer to hold the nuts both in the boiling water and then move into the cold water. Does this help?

      Liked by 1 person

      • tracypacesplace
        January 4, 2024

        I knew you’d know! Will attempt and report back…thanks Anita!

        Liked by 2 people

  9. Essie Oh
    January 1, 2024

    Happy New Year and Happy Birthday, Anita! So sorry you weren’t feeling well. I hope you bounce back quickly. Your 2024 goals certainly sound attainable. I’ve set umpteen goals (again). I am working on accomplishing as many as I can by 2025. The years are flying by!

    Like

    • Anita
      January 4, 2024

      The years pass faster and faster as we age. It should be the opposite, as we age and slow down the years should go slower too so we can keep up.

      Liked by 3 people

      • tracypacesplace
        January 4, 2024

        ‘The days are long, but the years are short’!

        Liked by 3 people

  10. Helen
    January 1, 2024

    Happy Birthday and Happy New Year! Hope you are soon well enough to start accomplishing your goals. Even though I don’t comment much, I read everything you post and admire your ability to persevere in all circumstance. Thanks for everything I’ve learned!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      January 4, 2024

      Comments are always welcome and thank you. I’m feeling better.

      Like

  11. blissfully in the shadows
    January 1, 2024

    Happy that you are feeling a bit better. Hopefully the weakness disperses lickety-split.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sandy
    January 1, 2024

    Happy birthday 🎊🎁🎉🎂🎈

    Like

    • Anita
      January 4, 2024

      Thank you Sandy

      Like

  13. Gayle
    January 1, 2024

    Happy Birthday, Happy New Year and I hope you are soon feeling stronger and able to work on accomplishing the goals you have for 2024, Anita. All the best, Gayle

    Like

    • Anita
      January 4, 2024

      Thank you Gayle, I’m feeling better.

      Like

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 888,635 Hits