Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Cold weather sick

I’ve been under the weather for a few days with another episode of chronic fatigue syndrome. I believe it was brought on because my house got so cold during the below freezing temperatures we had. I do have a couple small space heaters to use but they are no substitute for a regular furnace. I’m still waiting for mine to be installed. I’m hoping its soon. The city does nothing fast.

I wasn’t as prepared for cold weather as I should have been. All the repair work being done to my house has put me way behind on prepping for winter and making quilts. Sigh, I can’t do much of anything until I’m able to put things back where they belong.

I got another really nice surprise gift before I became ill. An angel sent me a package of smoked wild caught Alaska sockeye salmon. Yummy! I do love fish and sea food. I’ve never had smoked salmon before so I’m looking forward to eating it. I usually buy the kind of salmon that comes in a can because it’s cheapest and I make croquets or salmon loaf. If I ever find fresh salmon discounted at the grocery I’ll grab as much as possible and can it myself.

I’m cutting this post short because I’m still not quite myself yet. I need to make some chicken soup and take a shower. I can’t do everything but I can do something. I’ll probably end up back in bed for another sleep by this afternoon.

Hugs from KY,

Anita

6 comments on “Cold weather sick

  1. memohome5
    November 6, 2023

    Thank you for the “I can’t do everything, but I can do something.” Needed that reminder, as I am so hard on my self for not doing at 82 what I could do at younger ages. Blessings and feel better soon! Carolyn

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anita
      November 8, 2023

      I’m feeling better Carolyn, thank you. I keep that saying hanging where I see it daily to remind me for the same reason.

      Like

  2. Essie Oh
    November 6, 2023

    Hope you feel better soon- and that the furnace gets installed in record time!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Selena
    November 5, 2023

    Beware of the best used by date on fresh salmon. That date is a true best used by date. So before you buy it, give it a good sniff. If it passes and you you buy it on the best used by date, cook it that very day – do not wait.
    I find it appalling, but sad to say not surprised, that the furnace has yet to be installed despite it being fall-with-winter-around-the-corner.

    Like

    • Anita
      November 6, 2023

      Thank you Selena I didn’t know that. Maybe that’s why I’ve never found salmon on discount. I’ve called to complain about the furnace but everyone seems to be under the weather. Even a couple of schools have closed due to so much illness. It must be something going around. Thank goodness we have a few warmer days coming before it turns cold again.

      Like

  4. Deborah
    November 5, 2023

    Praying you feel better soon Anita.

    Liked by 3 people

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2023 by in Downsizing 2023, Gift unboxing, My health and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 888,640 Hits