Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Frugal when cooking

Long ago I read something about cooking meals that struck me it could have been describing my Grandma Mama. She let nothing go to waste. I never forgot about it although I had to look up the exact wording for the quote.

I do love that quote and I imagine Grandma Mama and Calvin’s mother would have been great friends. I believe it was a common cooking strategy in their day for women to use every scrap as often as possible. From what I remember, some of what was cooked on Sunday would be used as the start of another meal on Monday. Monday’s meal became the start of Tuesday’s meal which became the start of Wednesday’s meal and so forth.

Grandma Mama was an expert at creating meals seemingly from almost nothing. She would do things like save bits of left over meat and dried out cheeses which were ground into tiny bits to be included in soups or stews. If it ever seemed like there wasn’t enough meat to feed everyone she would say it hadn’t been ground small enough. All types of bones, even fish bones, became the start of stock making. Papa hunted and fished. Grandma Mama made everything he brought home into something delicious. They were subsistence farmers and foragers. These days it’s called sustainable living.

I’ve got a long way to go before I’m half as frugal as my grandparents were although I do my best. Have you heard about or read about people saving meat “drippings” during WW1 & 2? I picked up the habit from Grandma Mama. Can you see the fat floating on top of the water in the pan? I save drippings like this in a container in the freezer. I just keep adding a bit at a time until the container is full or when I need to make space in the freezer. When the container is full I clean the drippings to be used as lard for cooking. Grandma Mama called it washing the drippings. I just started a new container. The old one gave me a little less than one cup of lard after washing it.

You might say ‘that’s a lot of work for such a tiny bit but it doesn’t take long for all those bits to fill a container. I don’t let the water go to waste either. There’s a lot of flavor in that water. I freeze it and use it because it’s a simple form of stock. Hmm, I just realized I had two different dates. I was confused.

I used the water as the starter for boiled cabbage. I put in a couple pieces of leftover sausage too so nothing was wasted. Sometimes when I’m sick I drink cabbage water instead of chicken broth.

Most of my meals come from either the USDA senior food box, foodbank truck, or the discount bins at the grocery. I realize not everyone has a foodbank truck giving produce away in their area so I’ll show you some of what I get and explain how I use it. Please don’t be upset by the way the food looks. The purpose of the foodbank truck is to let people have the food before it’s sent to a landfill or plowed under. In the Bible it’s called “gleaning the fields” and there are several references to it as required charitable giving by the wealthy.

In October I got deer carrots. Deer carrots are over sized, broken, and ugly carrots most often used as deer bait by hunters.

I don’t care how ugly the carrots are. I’ll be a deer and eat them too. I canned those for stews and soups this winter. Hmm, maybe I’ll have carrot pie for Thanksgiving.

Potatoes that aren’t suitable to sell in grocery stores are bagged for distribution to foodbank truck recipients. Again they are the oversized, misshaped, broken, and ugly potatoes. That doesn’t matter to me. These yellow potatoes are great for canning. They hold their shape and don’t get cloudy after canning. I hope we get more of this kind of potatoes in the November foodbank truck foods.

Despite being ugly they taste just as good as the pretty potatoes in stores and I’ve saved twenty pounds from ending up in a landfill. I canned those in both chunks and as French fries. When opening and cooking canned potatoes I like coating them in oil and baking until browned. The potatoes also make a chunky kind of potato soup. In summer the canned potatoes make a quick potato salad.

Not long ago I found two bags of pomegranates in the discount bin bags five for a dollar. If you don’t know it, these normally sell for $5 each. Fifty dollars worth of pomegranates for $2. As far as I’m concerned that was a golden find. I quickly seeded them and froze the arils for eating a little at a time. I’m hoping to find more while they are in season. I’m also hoping to find dragon fruit in the discount bin but I doubt it will ever happen.

Last month the foodbank truck had breads. We don’t get bread as often as we used to get it. I was given a couple of baguettes with a sell by date of that same day. I quickly made crackers with them. There are lots of ways to use bread crackers.

I used some of the vegetables given that day to make a bread salad. Sometimes I make a cheese spread using the senior box cheese to eat on the bread crackers. Sometimes I just eat them with peanut butter.

So you see I do my best to use the food we are given. I believe the next time I get potatoes I’ll try canning potato soup with carrots, onions, and celery. All I would have to do is open, add milk and butter, then heat to serve. Even though it would technically be potato soup I could use it as the starter for pot pie or vegetable soup.

As you can tell by the long post about food; living on chicken broth and cabbage broth for nearly a week due to my illness left me feeling very hungry. I’m feeling much better. Thank you for all the get well wishes. I’m going to make phone calls today to see if I can speed up the installation of my furnace before the weather turns cold again.

Hugs from KY,

Anita

17 comments on “Frugal when cooking

  1. Jasna
    November 9, 2023

    You are my inspiration, Anita. Great post, and great comments.
    Hugs from Chilean Patagonia.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anita
      November 10, 2023

      Jasna! Good to hear from you. You moved back home? Hugs

      Like

  2. Linda Ruth Feldman
    November 9, 2023

    This is another inspiring post about avoiding food waste! I really appreciate your pictures of the food you are given and how you cook with it. I sincerely hope the younger generation who were not brought up with the old fashioned ways of thrift and gratitude for nature’s blessings will find your blog!! I am also glad to hear you are getting better!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anita
      November 9, 2023

      Thank you Linda for the compliment. My plans are to do more posts about frugal cooking during our worsening economy. However; when you want to make God laugh, make plans. Hugs

      Like

  3. captnmike
    November 8, 2023

    One of the problems with surplus/extra food from grocery stores I am told is that some stores only donate once or twice a week

    One grocery store I go tohas food pickup six days a week with different organizations on different days so the “old” food is still relatively fresh – also the extra pizza at the end of each day also goes to feed hungry / homeless people

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      November 9, 2023

      We have far too much food waste in America. I’m not sure how often food is picked up at our stores but you’re right it does make a difference in quality. We have several different food donation programs in KY. Farm to foodbanks has been around a couple years. It was announced on the news a couple days ago another one has been added for our area called Glean Kentucky. That program has been in other parts of KY for a few years but not here in Louisville. The idea is to keep ugly but edible farm products out of landfills and into homes.

      Like

  4. Gayle M Hendricks
    November 8, 2023

    I love your thriftiness, Anita. I work at a couple of food banks, myself – one at my church and a community one in town. The one at church only operates the first and third Tuesday of the month, so if there are 5 Tuesdays and we didn’t have as many people as we were expecting and so there is produce left that won’t keep for three weeks, we workers are offered it. I tend to can much of it up, as well. They also often give me bread that has begun to mold. I take it home, remove the mold and my chickens enjoy a special treat. :0) Take care and God bless. Gayle

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      November 8, 2023

      Thank you Gayle. I can just imagine the wide amount of variety in your food storage. It must be amazing.

      Like

  5. 4paws2love2
    November 8, 2023

    You would love the trick my cousin taught me. After every meal, whatever was left over went into a container in the freezer. I used a 5 quart ice cream bucket. Avoid anything in the cabbage family, and noodles, most everything else goes right in the bucket. When it is full start another. When it is thawed, if it is too thick use water to thin, if too thin, use cornstarch to thicken. She served this “stew” at the end of year company Christmas party. She never threw any food out. She owned a company and traveled extensively. She said it was a sin to waste food. No one at the company ever knew they were eating a years worth of her family’s leftovers. Everyone wanted her “recipe”, and of course there was no way she could give it to them. She never had the same things in it.

    We used to eat the “stew” New Year’s Day, and part of the week till it was gone. The remainder went into a new bucket for the next year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      November 8, 2023

      Yes, I love the story. She must have been a very, very frugal person like Grandma Mama. Thank you for the reminder. I used to save the tiny bits of leftover veggies in a container too. Although my container was only a two cup size. Once a month I used it to make a veggie pot pie. I can’t remember why I stopped doing that. I’m going to start doing it again.

      Like

      • 4paws2love2
        November 8, 2023

        Everything that was cooked went into it. Meat, gravy, veggies, etc. Now you could do a bigger container, and then volunteer to being a dish to pass at a family gathering. Only time it would take is thawing it out and heating it up.
        My cousin had loads of money they owned an air conditioning company in Florida. She just could not stand to throw anything out that she could find another use fir.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Anita
          November 9, 2023

          That’s a good idea for anyone who goes to a family gathering. Thanks for suggesting it.

          Like

  6. Debby
    November 8, 2023

    You are a great example of frugality. I’m glad you have the skills to use all your food in a variety of ways. I don’t use a food bank, but we do 90% of our food shopping at Sam’s club. Our church has a give away shelf. People bring extras or things they don’t really want, for sharing with others. This includes canned and packaged items. Breads from a local store are donated once a week. We have a community garden in season. You never know what will appear there. Currently we have an abundance of mustard! That is not moving very fast. Enjoy your bounty! Debby

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      November 8, 2023

      Thank you Debby. Scattered throughout Louisville there are “little foodbanks” which people leave unwanted items to be taken by anyone in need. I used to leave packages and cans of food that didn’t need cooking for homeless people to take. Tuna, crackers, peanut butter, jars of cheese spread, etc. I noticed a couple weeks ago the little foodbank where I left food is gone. Maybe it will be replaced with a newer one.

      Are you talking about yellow mustard? I can think of several ways to use it. A mustard BBQ sauce comes to mind first. Maybe a mustard vinaigrette sauce instead of mayo in a salad. The grandkids like honey mustard for their chicken strips.

      Like

      • tracypacesplace
        November 14, 2023

        Love the ‘little foodbank’ idea.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. breezyhill1
    November 8, 2023

    I drain the excess juice off my homemade fermented sauerkraut and drink a jigger of that every day. Supposed to be good for the gut. I love that saying too, about using leftovers. I’m going to write that down so I can access that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      November 8, 2023

      Somehow that saying kinda sticks with a person. Maybe not the exact words but the idea does.

      Like

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 887,611 Hits