Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Prices still rising

Because of the coming snow and extremely cold temperatures due on Friday all the mobile foodbank sites would be closed. I needed to get my car tag because it expires this month so I went on Thursday to avoid the snow. The DMV is next door to Kroger and shares the same parking lot. I decided to see what bargains I’d find since I was already there. Before I start let me explain that in some areas you might see some of the grocery prices coming down but here in my area they are still rising although nothing seems scarce. 

I had been at the DMV most of the day so I indulged myself with a discounted chef salad as a late lunch when I got home. That was healthier than fast food and tastier too. I bought a discounted loaf of bread to make braunschweiger sandwiches and chicken salad sandwiches. I wanted to have them ready incase of a power outage. The price of the English toasting bread has gone up $1.50 since August. I only buy it when I find it discounted and I haven’t baked bread at home. 

I always check the 99 cent produce bin. I got lucky with the orange bell peppers and turnips. The regular price of the orange peppers is $1.59 each. I saved $2.19. The green ones were 79 cents each.

The cabbage was 89 cents a pound. I didn’t like paying that much but I eat cabbage for my health. The turnips cost is $1.19 a pound or about $1.25 each. I saved about $4 on those turnips. 

I also found these two veggie trays less than half price. The regular price is $9.49 each. That’s about two dollars more than last month. I buy these discounted trays occasionally because it’s cheaper than buying the veggies and cutting it up myself. 

I found organic beef stock for $1.05 each. Normal price is $2.79. I bought ten of them but there was two store baskets full plus about 30 more on the discount shelf. Someone must have over ordered. I saved $17.40 on the cost but maybe I should think in terms of money spent instead. Meaning money I would not have normally used without the bargain.

I found a bag of sugar for 90 cents. Normal price is $3.29. A savings of $2.39. I use about 4 or 5 tablespoons per week for baking. So this package will last a long time. Unless I’m canning jelly or pickled beets.

And these bags of candy for the grands when they visit. I give them only one piece per visit.

The very, very best discount bargain from that day was….

beef at half price and one pack of 2 inch thick Duroc pork chops at half price. About $100 worth of meat for $50 is pretty good. 

They look dark in the photo but actually they’re very fresh looking and not outdated. I’ve been watching for the discount packs of beef for several months because I was out of home canned beef. I guess someone always got there ahead of me. I have 14 half pints in the pressure canner right now and a little over half of one roast left. I’ll either freeze that for later or cook it to freeze in portions for quick meals. I like making barley beef soup or vegetable beef soup or beef stew in winter months. I used some of my Christmas and Birthday money to buy all these bargains. 

One issue that could possibly be the cause of rising prices in my area is the lack of grocery store competition. We have two major grocery stores about 5 miles away. They are Kroger and Aldi. No competition means these stores can charge what they want to charge. This area is saturated with several Dollar Tree, Family Dollar, Dollar General, CVS, and Walgreen stores all within a few blocks from each other. None of them sell fresh vegetables or fruits which means my area is considered a food desert. This all the more reason to grow as many foods as I can this year.

Pork chop and roast turnips

13 comments on “Prices still rising

  1. tracypacesplace
    January 27, 2024

    I always look at mushrooms at local Krogers, they are often half price or less as the expiry date comes up. I just rinse and slice or halve then place them on a skillet to wilt down a bit. Delicious with cheese/bacon/tomato/egg or just by themself, and very healthy! Got 2 half pounds yesterday for $1.04 each.

    Like

    • Anita
      January 27, 2024

      You got a great bargain! I also look for discount mushrooms but it’s been many months since I bought any. The Kroger where I shop doesn’t discount them until the last minute. At a normal price of about $5 per pound and none to be found on discount good enough to eat or home can I’ve been using my limited supply of factory canned mushrooms. I bought these for 89 cents each before the price of a 4 ounce can went to $2.29.

      Like

  2. wideeyedwanderingspoonie
    January 24, 2024

    That is a pretty good deal on the meat for sure! We don’t eat beef or pork, hubby eats a little chicken/turkey sometimes but for us it’s mostly fish for him and vegetarian for me which helps the food budget. Like you I plan to grow as much as I can this year. Last year I grew herbs and I still have plenty of mint for teas! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      January 27, 2024

      I wish I had enough sun and space in my house to start a few seeds growing for transplanting. I have to resort to buying expensive one in the spring which limits the number I will grow. I’ve been drinking Celestial brand herbal teas lately to give myself a variety instead of just plain water. I was thinking I could grow some of them for myself.

      Liked by 1 person

      • wideeyedwanderingspoonie
        January 31, 2024

        We drink mint tea, harvested from my tiny garden space and dried in bunches zero cost and it is quite lovely. Mint is a fantastic grower, my only recommendation is to put it in pots, otherwise it will take over all the space you have. lol Oh and btw, the mint is still growing 🙂

        Like

  3. catherine young
    January 22, 2024

    I do not qualify for the sr commodities but I end up with a lot of the powdered milk from others who don’t want it. Some of the items make their way to our food pantry. I take as much of the milk that I can. I did quite well this week at the pantry because there was a large influx of packaged Indian foods They did not go well so I was able to stock up and they have provided marvelous respite from the usual fare like I had tonight. Just packaged Mac n cheese with canned Turkey chili w/o beans. A bit of leftover spinach from a luncheon I attended. That was it for my dinner

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      January 23, 2024

      About once a year we get an odd item in the commodity box. Last year we got a package of grits. This month we got a box of Farina instead of oatmeal. I sure hope the oatmeal comes back. Like you I make use of what I get whenever possible.

      Like

  4. Selena
    January 21, 2024

    Nothing wrong with “dark” meat as long as you’re watching expiration dates. It will taste the same.
    https://www.huffpost.com/entry/report-claims-inflation-woes-driven-largely-by-corporate-greed_n_65ac37c6e4b041f1ce662f73
    Corporate greed and we only have so much power when it comes to purchasing food. No one grow/supply ALL they need.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anita
      January 22, 2024

      Thanks Selena. I realize we have limited power of purchases. Corporate greed is “greedflation” People can’t plant and grow clothing, shoes, or medical devices but we can grow food to ease our budgets.

      Like

  5. texasilver
    January 21, 2024

    I’m glad you got your new furnace installed before the recent cold front. We had a pipe to break & have not had running water since. My husband turned on water for a bit to fill the bathtub for toilet flushing water & to fill pitchers for drinking water. We are managing but I will be glad when it is fixed. We can shower at the gym so that is taken care of. We are using paper plates & bowls bought at Dollar Tree & eating convenience food from the freezer. At least the heating did not go out. The electric blanket is wonderful on cold nights. The cats like the heated throw & blanket also. My husband found a small cat huddled under his truck a few weeks ago. We are feeding & sheltering her indoors & I guess she has a new home. She is not feral. I think someone abandoned her. The vet called her owner on her chip, but no one has claimed her. I don’t know if she would have survived the very cold weather, we had last week w/o shelter and food. Friendly & gentle kitty.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anita
      January 22, 2024

      Yes, I’m keeping warm with the furnace but it’s expensive to use. It’s the lowest energy efficient on the market. I keep it at 65 during the day and 55 at night while I sleep under a new electric blanket I got for my birthday. Just a thought but maybe you could take a couple empty water bottles to the gym and fill them up before you leave. Free drinking water for you and the furkids until you get yours fixed. I used to have a small heating pad for my furkids. Stray cats have a way of sneaking into one’s heart. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. catherine young
    January 21, 2024

    Do you have any food pantries nearby? That’s where I get 90% of my food. Yes, processed and canned foods. No fresh foods there, but I get a lot of staples like broths, for example, to stock my larder. The fresh food banks all require some sort of voucher around here. I eat to live so, yeah, canned fruits, vegetables, etc are my mainstay.
    My big meat windfall were the Food Lion leftover Thanksgiving turkeys at 34 cents/lb. I bought 10 20 lb birds and they have filled up my freezer. Beef is very expensive here. I only get it when gifted to me

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anita
      January 21, 2024

      Yes there is an indoor food pantry for my area. So far I haven’t needed to go there for about a year. I prefer to go to the drive through food bank for the fresh vegetables and fruits. Not having the one day a month is a rare event and I’m sure, baring weather conditions, it will be there in February. I get canned foods from the USDA senior commodity boxes each month which helps a lot. I looked for after holiday turkey sales and never found any.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2024 by in Bargains found 2024, Budget 2024 and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 888,641 Hits