Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Slow progress

Now that the house repairs are done putting things back where they belong is slow going. That’s mostly because without sunshine I lose my energy. Since January 1 this year we’ve had only 10 days without rain or snow and of those only 4 were bright cloudless sunny days. Even on bright sun days the orientation of my house doesn’t let in much sunshine. The warehouse in the back shades my house most of the day.

Well anyway, I’ve finally cleared things off the studio table and got out one of my sewing machines. It felt great to have a working space even if it isn’t fully a working studio again yet. 

I started with the quilt designs I had began before the inside repairs interrupted. I like doing both traditional block quilts as well as applique quilts. Sometimes I create a quilt just to use as the base for the stitching designs I want to do. The quilt is the canvas, the needle is the brush, and the thread is the paint. 

Back in late August of last year I had already gotten these patterns enlarged to working size when I received notice the house repairs would start. I had to drop everything and move stuff out of their way. That meant moving stuff into the studio until the repairs were completed.

Now that I have a clear working space I decided to pick up where I left off with these patterns. I trace the pieces onto freezer paper which is used as the piece cutting patterns. I keep the original enlargement just in case I want to re-create that quilt again in the future. 

I didn’t draw this design. My drawings are cartoon style. This is a wall size pattern from a 2012 quilt book called “No Sewing Until You Quilt It” by Ann Holmes. She also has a youtube channel by the same name. It’s an applique pattern I’m going to eventually make using the clothing of my late sister-in-law. I’ll be making several quilts with her clothing for her children and grandchildren.

I still have a lot to do in order to get my house and studio back in working order. Once again, providing there are no more interruptions, I’ll continue with the downsizing of my stuff. I need to get started with garden stuff and also get back to working on the family tree again. I’m working on another quilt blog to show the quilts I make for charity this year. So much to do! I need 48 hour days. 

5 comments on “Slow progress

  1. kaythegardener
    February 7, 2024

    Dear NaNa,

     Relatives at RootsTech2024 is now open until Mar 31st! Will that help you find some hidden cousins for your genealogy work? Have fun with your family in the coming months!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      February 11, 2024

      Yes, thank you, I’ve found some and searching for more.

      Like

  2. wideeyedwanderingspoonie
    February 1, 2024

    That looks like a marvelous quilt top. How fortunate your sister’s children are to have you do that for them. What a wonderful gift. Many years ago, I crocheted angel dolls for my grandchildren that included little bits of yarn, cloth, jewelry etc. from their deceased maternal grandmother’s clothes and yarn stash.

    Like

  3. catherine young
    January 27, 2024

    It all looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2024 by in Down sizing, Organizing 2024, Quilt making and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 888,462 Hits