Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

I HATE Microsoft Edge!

Microsoft Edge updates and takes over my computer without my permission! That’s what I hate about it. No warnings and no options. It always, always messes up my computer by deleting operating files I use most often. My video editor is gone. Just disappeared. My normal photo organizer has changed and appears incomplete.

Even though I know every year at about this time the same thing happens, it still sends me into a tizzy trying to figure the new stuff out. When one changes all the others will follow with their changes too. Usually WordPress will make their changes a few days after MS Edge.

I managed to keep my PC free from Microsoft Edge for many years until about 4 years ago. I’ve never liked it and never wanted it. I resent being “forced” to have it and use it without my permission. Well anyway, I’ll calm down now and tell you about my week.

I went to the February drive-though mobile foodbank for my area. I got two bags of onions, two Italian bread, four 5 pound bags of tiny potatoes, a bag of garlic knots bread, and two packs of cinnamon bear claws pastry. Under the garlic knots is a small pre-sliced ham. I gave my sister the onions, the bread, and 3 bags of potatoes. I gave my daughter one bag of potatoes.

I got four celery hearts, four head of lettuce, and four Dole salad kits. I kept two celery, gave my sister one and my daughter one. I gave my daughter two head of lettuce and my sister two head. I kept and ate the salad kits.

I got ten very ripe bananas and six pounds of raspberries which I kept and put both into my freezer. I’ll be making either banana walnut bread or maybe muffins. The raspberries will be for snacks or with yogurt.

I defrosted and cleaned out my freezer. I have a very hard time reaching the bottom. Over the years I’ve used various things that made it easier to get stuff out. I found that nothing makes it any easier than plain grocery bags. I number them and put everything on an inventory sheet.

I have a LOT of food. However, it\s not as much as it appears. My daughter took some of the food so it’s not quite as full as this anymore. Some of the food is going to be canned this week.

I did do some canning. I canned 10 pints of red beans and I also canned the grapefruits.

From the 24 grapefruits I got 9 half pints and one half pint of juice. I was lucky to have put these photos in WordPress before the MS Edge updates. I’ll be doing more canning this week and while I wait for the canning times I’ll try finding an open source photo manager and video editor. Hopefully there is one very simple to use by little old folks who can’t keep up with all the newest stuff.

Stay safe, stay frugal, have a good week,

Anita

23 comments on “I HATE Microsoft Edge!

  1. kaythegardener
    February 20, 2024

    Dear NaNa,

    Does your computer have a setting to ask you first for updates? Most of my programs do & they leave a little notification. Then I can update at my convenience, after checking with Google what the update is all about!!

    Like

    • Anita
      February 20, 2024

      I thought my computer had that kind of setting but now I’m not sure. My neighbor seems to think it has something to do with Windows and MS Edge working together. A new version Windows 11 came out recently so maybe that has something to do with the changes.

      Like

  2. tracypacesplace
    February 19, 2024

    I bought a Chromebook at the start of the pandemic Anita, well apparently it was in the small print that Google will no longer be updating their systems, or not for free, soon, 2024. My son got me a laptop for then, so I guess I will have to get used to updating things myself. I will tell him I don’t want to use Microsoft Edge!

    When you freeze the raspberries what do you use them for later?

    Like

    • Anita
      February 20, 2024

      I use the raspberries as fruit snacks instead of sweets or put them in yogurt or smoothies. I freeze most fruits I get from the drive-through foodbank because everything is very short dated. It’s the quickest way to preserve the foods. I also can fruit if I have time to do it right away.

      I have a 12 year old tower computer. My neighbor says Windows and MS Edge work together. A new windows version 11 came out recently. Maybe that’s how it got installed.

      Liked by 1 person

      • tracypacesplace
        February 22, 2024

        Today I noticed my internet bill is $20 more than last month, I called them and the provider (xfinity/comcast) has dropped the amount if I sign a new 12 month contract. There’s also an excess usage charge in increments of $10 but I doubt I will use that, I don’t watch movies or anything. But I may start switching off my computer when not in use, who knows what goes on in the background and if it costs anything?! The Affordable Connectivity Program which gives a $30 credit per month for lower income people is pending further government funding and may go away, I just wrote to The White House about that. It’s always the same, I feel like things are going well and something jumps in price…there’s coming a day when I won’t use any of these things and just cancel the whole lot and be done! I get sick of trying to keep up with corporate greed.

        Like

        • Anita
          February 22, 2024

          I totally agree. Corporate greed. My phone & internet bill went up $20 last month but I don’t have a contract. I got the same notice about the Affordable Connectivity Program. I sent my letter to Washington last month. If we lose the ACP our bills will go up another $30 a month.

          All the price hikes are connected to the SS cost of living raise. Every January when the SS COLA raise takes effect the corporate greed starts with one and everyone else follows. My car insurance went up $100 a year. I pay it every six months. I expect my home owner insurance will go up too. Our gas & electric company raised my equal payments from $131 to $180 a month. Heck, even restraunts are charging extra fees per order but it’s not a tip. Tips are extra.

          I have the same feeling about cancelling everything. I’ve been hovering near the breaking point for over a year. If it were not for the angels who tip me each month and getting food from the drive through foodbank I couldn’t keep going.

          Liked by 1 person

          • tracypacesplace
            February 22, 2024

            You are paying a lot for electric/gas utilities, mine was $85 this month which was high because heating was so expensive. My company is Green Mountain Energy, they use solar and wind power when possible, and I said I want a straightforward unit charge, it looks more expensive than the complex plans but so far has been a good deal.

            If Xfinity/Comcast try to rip me off in future I am done with them. I’ll go to the coffee shop or library or my son’s or work places to use internet. I’m sick of being powerless against large corporations who charge more simply because they can. I never hear any of my friends or contacts saying they are making money from it all, via their pensions or other investments, so something is wrong somewhere!

            Like

          • Anita
            February 24, 2024

            I guess the cost of el/gas depends on where you live and the amount of space you’re heating. Also the efficiency of the furnace. I’m on the equal payment plan which means I pay less in winter and summer but more in spring and fall. The city put in the absolutely cheapest furnace and the very least energy efficient and I have a two story house.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Selena
    February 19, 2024

    Firefox or Google Chrome may be a better option. I have Firefox to *always* notify me and let me install updates. I know Firefox is free, suspect Google Chrome is too.

    No updates should ever remove software that doesn’t “belong” to it. Which is why I detest microsoft.

    Like

    • Anita
      February 20, 2024

      I use Google Chrome. It’s a mystery to me how my photo organizer got changed and video editor removed and MS edge installed without my permission.

      Like

      • Selena
        February 20, 2024

        what software did you use for photo organizer and video editor?

        Like

        • Anita
          February 20, 2024

          Windows 10 organizer and editor. While searching through my settings I discovered a message that an update to windows 11 could not be completed because my computer is not compatible. In other words it’s too old. But I still have the disks for Photoshop Elements 6 so I’ll probably use those. If I can remember how.

          Like

          • Selena
            February 20, 2024

            Sounds like a winblows move – remove “incompatible” software before ensuring the winblows update can be applied.

            Check your recycle bin as well as doing a search for organizer. In theory, they should still be there as the winblows 11 could not be installed.

            Like

          • Anita
            February 21, 2024

            Thank you, I will.

            Like

  4. Brenda
    February 19, 2024

    Why do you have to USE edge? Switch browsers, there several others. I use Firefox, or there is Chrome. 

    Like

    • Anita
      February 20, 2024

      I don’t use it. I use Google Chrome but the MS edge showed up and somehow removed my video editor and changed my photo organizer. If I knew how it happened maybe I could fix it.

      Like

  5. sttubj
    February 19, 2024

    Sorry about the Microsoft Edge issues. I don’t know how to fix that for you. My tech guy told me to keep Google as my search engine.

    You do such a great job handling the food items from the food bank. Seems they love to load folks up with carby food, but the veggies are encouraging as is the grapefruit.

    I am sure your family is glad to get the extra groceries. I know I would be!

    Have a great Monday and week…

    Like

    • Anita
      February 20, 2024

      I use Google as my search engine but the MS Edge just showed up somehow. The food is all donated to keep it out of a landfill so we don’t know from month to month what we will get.

      Like

      • 4paws2love2
        February 20, 2024

        I use duck duck go as my search engine. No problems, and no unwanted advertising either. None of my laptops or tablets are linked together, so if one gets something weird on it, it does not also get on another one.

        Like

        • Anita
          February 20, 2024

          Thanks, I have been thinking about Duck Duck Go. Would it keep ads off of youtube when I watch something? I don’t have any other devices. Just my tower computer and my granddaughter’s old cell phone I use as a camera. It isn’t hooked up with any company. I still use a house phone.

          Like

          • Jo
            March 1, 2024

            I’ve been using Firefox for years. And Startpage search engine, or Swisscows. Google and Chrome are big into using people and their info. I only ever use Google when all else fails.

            Unfortunately, nothing but $ will get rid of ads on you tube.

            Like

          • Anita
            March 3, 2024

            Thank you.

            Like

        • tracypacesplace
          February 22, 2024

          Me too.

          Like

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 888,509 Hits