Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Cooking and canning

I’ve been really busy all last week cooking and canning. When I get food from the drive through foodbank it usually takes a week to preserve everything. Although that’s not full time days. There wasn’t any foodbank for January so I had extra time on my hands. I decided to do a freezer inventory because it really needs defrosting anyway. But before I got started I realized some of the food in there needed either cooking or canning. I got so busy dealing with food that I never did the inventory. That will be my project for this week.

In the freezer I found a ham I had bought last month. Kroger had spiral cut hams on sale for 89 cents a pound with a limit of two. I bought two for about $7 each and gave one to my daughter because my freezer is really small and almost full. I didn’t have room for two. In order to make more room before this month’s drive-through foodbank I decided to cook the ham and freeze it in portion sizes for one person. I saved the bone and made ham broth for canning.

Last week Kroger had two loss leaders on their 5 times digital deals that I couldn’t resist. I’ve been out of ground beef for awhile. I still had some of my Christmas/Birthday money so I bought 15 pounds of ground beef on sale $1.99 a pound. That was five packs of 3 pounds each. My skillet holds 3 pounds easily and up to 5 pounds when needed. It was my Grandma Mama’s deep fryer.

Two packs of three pounds each will loosely fill 14 half pint jars for two meals in each.  One jar didn’t seal so I had half of it for dinner as a sloppy Joe sandwich and the rest for lunch the next day. I canned 4 packs which gave me 27 jars. This means I have 54 meals in those jars. If I’m eating one jar a week it would be about a year’s worth of meals. 

The last pack was made into Salisbury steaks and meatballs to freeze. Back in January I had found stuffing mix at Aldi for twenty five cents a bag. They were over stocked and trying to get rid of some. Making do with what I have it became the seasoned bread crumbs for my recipe. 

I left them just a little under done to allow for more cooking as they are being heated for a meal. I now have six Salisbury steaks and 10 meatball meals ready to heat and eat. This means I now have eight more weeks of meals in the freezer.

Kroger also had 5 times deal of Mandarin oranges five pounds for $3.99 each. The regular price has been $4.99 for a three pound bag. I bought only 4 packs because it was all there was left. I was happy with four. 

Each bag makes eight half pints. I canned two bags which gave me 16 half pint jars. 

The other two bags are being supremed in preparation for canning. When finished I’ll have 32 half pints. If I eat one jar a week I’ll have 8 months worth of mandarin oranges for whatever recipe I choose. Actually I prefer them with cottage cheese or yogurt but I could make an orange cake or maybe gelato. There was a couple more five times items I liked but I was out of money. I’ll be going into more about my food storage in the coming weeks.

I also had my orthotic appointment on Wednesday. Thank you my angel! I’m not sure I’m happy with these yet. I’ll wear them for a couple weeks and then decide whether to go back for adjustments. They are very thick and don’t adjust the width of my deformed feet like the ones I had years ago. My feet are two different sizes. One foot is extra wide and the other is regular. If I buy regular width the right one is too tight. If I buy extra wide the left side is floppy. I can’t afford to buy two pair each time I buy shoes. That’s why I was hoping orthotics would help and make walking easier.

I need to get back into the kitchen to can the other oranges. 

Anita

7 comments on “Cooking and canning

  1. texasilver
    February 12, 2024

    I made a delicious meatloaf using a leftover box of stuffing mix. I used 1 lb of meat, the stuffing mix, 2 eggs, and a mixture of leftover veggies (a stalk of celery, 2 limp carrots, 1/2 an onion, 3 sweet peppers.) and 1/2 cup of ketchup. I had some leftover cocktail sauce & used it instead of ketchup. I put the meat & veg thru the food processor. It was moist & tasty. It sounds like you used the stuffing mix as a binder in your Salsberry steak. I have a pound of ground turkey & some commodity canned pork. Maybe I can make a meatloaf w/these in the future. (I have more stuffing mix in the pantry.) The mix always goes on sale after the holidays.

    Like

    • Anita
      February 13, 2024

      That’s a great example of “using what you have” to make a meat loaf. I hope to get more stuffing so I’ll be watching for it after holidays.

      Like

  2. captnmike
    February 11, 2024

    More ambitious than me, good job!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      February 13, 2024

      Thank you. It’s my way of clearing things from the freezer to make more room as well as eat better.

      Like

  3. catherine young
    February 11, 2024

    You are doing so well,Anita. I’ve stopped most of my canning because I get a  tremendous amount of canned foods at my food pantry. Just made a huge pan of fried rice with canned mixed vegetables and canned chicken  for a Super Bowl gathering here. And did a pan of $1.25 Dollar Tree potstickers .  All food  pantry goods.   

    I would can for the ground beef.  I rarely get ground beef anymore, it’s too expensive here. I get little beef. When I go out and bring back leftovers, and when gifted. I do have frozen venison, ground, roast and steaks in freezer. 

    I have a year worth of meals for two. Mord than a year because I go way off course and plan. But if things get too tight, I have these meals.

    Like

    • Anita
      February 13, 2024

      Ooo, good idea for the canned chicken and mixed veggies. Ground beef has been very expensive here too. I haven’t bought any for several months. I was only able to buy it because it was a loss leader and using Christmas and birthday gifts from followers. I get factory canned veggies and chicken from the USDA senior box each month. Although lately the chicken is in plastic pouches and is mostly water. Sometimes we get a pouch of beef stew but I can’t eat it because it’s mostly soy. I’m allergic to soy.

      Like

    • texasilver
      February 14, 2024

      The fried rice sounds tasty. Did you serve w/ soy or teriyaki sauce? What do you fry the rice in?

      Like

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 888,518 Hits