Na Na pinches her pennies

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Food as medicine

This is a follow up to my previous post about my weird popcorn craving and anemia.

I’m not against working with a doctor or a nurse practitioner; however, I refuse to simply put my life in their hands without educating myself about what they suggest. Ultimately I’m the one most responsible for my own health. Doctors and NPs are not infallible. They can and do make mistakes the same as anyone else. Not every doctor or nurse practitioner graduates in the top 10 percent and I’d bet not many spend their spare time reading medical journals and scientific case studies for the newest treatments.

I thought I would post some of the things I’ve learned in my own research. I don’t blindly trust the blogs I read or the videos I watch when researching. No one else should either. Not even mine. The information you find on the web is usually very contradicting from one to another. That’s why I like browsing the websites that will often contain medical research data. It can be dry, boring reads unless you’re looking for specific information. I was looking specifically for information about strange food cravings. I was not wanting to become my own doctor. Simply put I want to educate myself so that I can hold an informed conversation with my doctor. My research led me to information about the causes and eventually to a study about the body’s reaction to Metformin in combination with vitamin B12 shots. The NP had either never read the research about the side effect of anemia or she had felt it unnecessary to explain the side effects to me.

I became a little excited when I read how being anemia can also cause false abnormally high blood sugar readings. I learned there is a direct link between iron deficiency and having higher amounts of glucose in the blood. This increases the A1C in people with diabetes. Why does this happen? I’ll explain what I learned.

The blood has both red and white cells. The body uses iron to make and replenish the red blood cells but it can’t store iron. Iron in the body must be replaced regularly with iron rich foods. Red blood cells are what glucose sticks onto in order to be carried to various parts of the body as fuel. If the body doesn’t get enough iron rich foods to make more red blood cells then the body is said to be anemic. Glucose molecules can’t travel around the body by themselves. They must attach themselves to red blood cells for traveling. Anemic people have fewer and fewer red blood cells for the glucose to latch onto. As a result the blood becomes thick with unused glucose swimming around searching for a red cell to attach itself. That’s what results in a higher A1C number in anemic people.

When a body becomes anemic it doesn’t have enough healthy red blood cells or “hemoglobin” to carry glucose to the lungs where it exchanges it for oxygen. Hemoglobin is the protein stuff found inside the red blood cells that carries that oxygen from the lungs to other organs in the body. The lack of oxygen will make the body feel tired and weak along with various other symptoms.

People age 65 and older are more likely to have certain chronic diseases that increase the risk of becoming anemic. People on low & fixed incomes are more likely to have iron-poor diets because mostly they just want “to fill the belly” within the limits of the income. The healthiest foods are also the most expensive foods. The cheapest foods are those with all the fillers and ingredients we can’t pronounce or spell. They are also the most addictive foods filled with empty calories of sugar and hydrogenated oils. Hydrogenated oils are also a culprit in increasing blood glucose levels.

Food bank foods, whether from an outdoor drive through or inside a building, are meant to keep people alive, but not healthy. I’ll continue to get the drive through foodbank fruits and vegetables to supplement my food storage but my goal is to use both store bought and home grown vegetables as my pathway to better health. We consumers are all being manipulated to be unhealthy and dependent on those who supply our food and our medicines. The cheap but healthy foods our ancestors ate before the 1950s are no longer sold. We can’t eat what we can’t purchase. Beef bones made great vegetable soup. Chicken backs and necks made delicious dumplings. Rocky Mountain Oysters or tounge were very good sources of iron but aren’t in stores anymore. I could go on and on about the cheap healthy foods we can’t find in stores anymore but that’s for another post another time.

Stay healthy, stay safe,

Anita

6 comments on “Food as medicine

  1. jamichdapa
    April 24, 2024

    Everyone should learn as much as they can about their individual conditions. Even when one has a specific medical condition, there are certain individual aspects each person has. For 

    best results , one works with certain standard protocols and then individualizes them. 

    Comfort foods from our past can be a solace when stressed. They are often not foods good for a person physically. People are living longer and are healthier overall these days than our forebears. The old diets were not always optimal  for longevity and health. 

    IMO, eating LESS  is a good first step. Saves money,  space. Obtaining far less of better foods to store, prepare and eat…much better use of resources. I eat very little now. My physical activity and metabolism simply does not use the calories my body once did.  

    I know my diet is not a healthy one because I eat primarily bulk canned and packaged foods.  Too much sugar, preservatives, salt etc. I forage fresh foods to supplement. I get the trendier health stuff only when given  to me  from other people.  According to a number of scientists and studies, this is not detrimental if one doesn’t eat to obesity on these foods. Correcting for other factors such  as heredity, life circumstance, , one can do well on such a diet, unappetizing as it may be. Maybe good that it is not scrumptious as it’s easier eating less that way 

    I’ve worked at maintaining my ideal weight for years because I want maximum mobility. The sad thing is that it is so easy to overeat on bad foods.  I can’t overeat on good foods because I don’t have much of that.  So I have kept my weight and size constant through thick and thin of life. There has always been a lot of the thick bad stuff in foods and experiences. 

    So I think you are doing absolutely the right thing doing your own research from sources other than medical personnel and taking your individual situation into account in a way that no source can do. We all need to remind ourselves of our own personal biases, preferences and prejudices to get as close to a true narrative that we can for our own health route. 

    Big spending month for me for kids and dogs but the first quarter this year  of  spending practically nothing and working like crazy has given me a buffer to withstand this.  Hoping for a low spend May for me. Unemployment kicks in for 6 months, then two lean months  that the holidays and my kids get me through. 

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      April 24, 2024

      True, people are living longer but as a nation we are much fatter and more dependent on pills to survive. The reason I’m going back to the foods I remember is because they were the “food medicine” Grandma Mama fed me to help me overcome my frequent childhood illnesses. Those foods kept me alive. We didn’t have all the vaccines back then. None of the foods I remember will be highly processed or filled with ingredients I can’t pronounce or spell.

      Congratulations on the low spend first quarter. Unemployment can be difficult. I’m cheering for you to get through it with little to no discomfort.

      Like

  2. Selena
    April 24, 2024

    There are ethnic food stores in my area, one in particular stands out. You can purchase beef tongue (goat heads too with x days notice). Every fruit/vegetable you can image, bulk nuts (salted, unsalted, raw).

    I remember when we used to purchase a 1/2 beef, the liver was occasionally “condemned”. I suspect most organ meat/tongue end up as ground beef.

    Eating healthy is not easy nor inexpensive. Fake/processed foods dominate the shelves. You’ll likely find a wider variety of veggies in canned section. Not near as much in the frozen department. Depending on brand, some frozen veggies are a joke – a few florettes of broccoli but plenty of stems and florette “crumbs”. Crap shoot on how much frost.

    And unless you have internet access, watching for sales is hard.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anita
      April 24, 2024

      Do you know what type ethnic? I’ll check to see if we have one here. I hadn’t thought about it but you’re right the organ and tongue probably end up as ground beef or in something like beef hot dogs. Hmm, maybe the Mountain Oysters are in Braunschweiger and liverwurst.

      I used to be pretty good at finding vegetables and fruit in the discount bins. Lately they’ve been hard to find because so many people are struggling. I’m going to switch to a different Kroger store that’s near a smaller neighborhood. That might help in finding more discounted produce. Aldi prices have sky rocketed too.

      I’m being very careful about what I’m keeping in my food storage. I switched to whole wheat products instead of white. Brown rice is kinds scarce lately. I go through the senior commodity box very carefully to pick out what I don’t feel is safe for me to eat. I gave away 2 boxes of the cheese because it’s “cheese food” and not real cheese. I also gave away the boxed cereal but kept the farina which has good protein in it.

      The weather is starting to be warmer and not raining everyday so now my mission is to get the tower gardens out of the shed and buy the potting mix to fill them. I’ve got a lot of pots to fill with veggies. 🙂 72 of them and 4 planter boxes.

      Like

      • Selena
        April 26, 2024

        I’d start with Mexican/Hispanic.

        Like

        • Anita
          April 27, 2024

          Thank you I’ll try there.

          Like

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other subscribers
Follow Na Na pinches her pennies on WordPress.com

What interests you?

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 888,518 Hits